We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service to match!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic hotel and service to match!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chapman Peak Hotel for 3 nights in May. It's perfectly positioned on the main Chapman Peak Road and has been recently renovated to excellent standards. We had a mountain view room and found it extremely comfortable. Staff could not have been more helpful. We were there at off peak season so the hotel was quiet, but we preferred this. Breakfast is in the main restaurant and with a good range of cold and cooked options. It's also well worth checking out the restaurant at night for the famous calamari and fabulous ribs. If you want to be just outside of Cape Town but within easy driving distance to the city center, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    52
    17
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
110
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

what an awesome hotel... it's a family run hotel & you just feel at home from the minute you arrive & when you head into your bedroom - my sentiments was - seventh heaven. I had a sea-facing view & it was glorious to have a bath and be able to have the view to make it even more relaxing. huge bed & coffee facilities in the room was a combination of a perfect night's sleep & coffee before heading down for brekkies, whilst relaxing on the balcony taking in the seaview & sea scent.

If you're a seafood lover - I wish I could rate this higher than a 5/5 as it's definately the best seafood I've ever had. I'm from SA, but live in the UK & every year I visit I get my seafood fix at Chappies.

Hoping the next time I visit I am on the arm of my dream man to share this experience with. Perfect for a relaxing holiday or a romantic holiday!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The overall experinec was fantastic. Not only is the interior beautifull, but aldso very luxurious. The view from the rooms is breathtaking! The general service and assistance was 5 star!. I espeailly enjoyed the added extra of having pluge coffe in my room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alacati, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have stayed Chapman's Peak Hotel for a week as a group. It was really spectacular. The rooms are very comfortable, you have everything you need. The staff is always smiling and very professional. Beside this they have the best restaurant at the hotel. Calamari is really unforgettable. I think the success is from the owners who runs the hotel.
We really enjoyed staying there and we will definetely go back there again. It has been only a month since we came back but we already missed Cape Town...

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Chapmans Peak Hotel is a historic hotel in a wonderful setting of Hout Bay. The new accommodation wing is ultra modern and rooms feature either sea or mountain views. Ours was a sea view room with large balcony to enjoy the bay. Our room was outstandingly beautiful and very contempory. It was probably one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in and the bathroom was spacious and ultra modern. The sliding glass doors, when closed, didn't let in any noise, so we were guaranteed a good sleep in a extremely comfortable bed. Independent air conditioning/heating worked well. Large in room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, free bottled water and free parking were an added bonus. We would highly recommend this hotel and its wonderful location of Hout Bay, which is a vibrant suburb of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Although we only stayed one night we thought the service and the hotel was excellent. Our room (in the new section) was luxurious with good finishes, including the modern bathroom, everything functioned properly too. Very impressed by the outdoor swimming pool area with its views over the bay. Had sundowners and a great meal at the popular restaurant. Next time we will definitely book a sea-facing room (which we went to see). Unfortunately there was a constant generator-like noise outside our mountain-side/back-facing room. A well-stocked mini-bar would be a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We chose Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel as a treat for our last two nights in South Africa before flying home. We considered other hotels of a comparable standard in Camps Bay but eventually chose the Chapmans Peak because of its view over Hout Bay. (Hout Bay is a good starting point to go up to Camps Bay or Cape Town or down towards Simonstown or the Cape. It's easy to get to anywhere in the area.) We asked for a room with a sea view and were given one of the very nice new rooms directly overlooking the beach. And what a view! The sun sets over the hills immediately to the west of Hout Bay, and when you wake in the morning the sun has already risen over Chapmans Peak and the beach is alive with dog walkers, joggers and others who get up earlier than we do! The drive from Cape Town Airport (34km/40min) is very straightforward (take your satnav with you, it makes life a lot easier). Parking at the hotel is off road and under cover. The welcome was friendly and efficient and the room was all we had hoped for. The reputation of the restaurant is good and we were not disappointed. Prawns, steak, good wines and excellent service. (It's a truism, but all hotel South African staff smile and are genuinely pleased to help. We didn't come across a single exception in a 3 week stay in SA). We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for all the reasons given above.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.