We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place to Stay in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This is the Place to Stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Chapmans Peak is a gem. I stayed for 1 night for business, exceptional. Room 106's view is awesome... love the bathroom and veranda breezes. Recommend turning the AC off and opening the veranda slider to capture the fresh breezes... The breakfast is also a very rich experience and surprisingly the coffee was right up there in the best I have had in South Africa to date. Get out of the city and get yourself to Hout Bay for the real experience of Cape Town has to offer..... I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Only book sea view room - it would be a crime to book a garden view when at this seaside hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    48
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
101
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was beautiful with an amazing sea view, breakfast was delicious and not to mention the mouth-watering calamari we had for dinner! DEFINITELY the best in Cape Town!

I look forward to staying over again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a great holiday in South Africa in February. We stayed at Chapmans Peak Hotel for the whole trip. The accomodation was excellent - we had a room with a sea view and the busy gastro pub type restaurant was very good. There are lost of other places to eat in Hout Bay as well. The pool is quite small and there are only a dozen+ sunbeds but at that time of the year there were plenty of free ones available for an afternoon in the sun! There are lost of places in walking distance of the hotel and Hout Bay is a good base from which to visit lots of places in the Cape area. We had hired a car at the airport but another time we might get a taxi from the airport and just hire a care locally for a few days to do some sightseeing.
We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are best although if you want to sleep with the window open you might be woken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Pleasant room (even though looking at the hill at the back) with balcony. Restaurant was good, enjoyed the pool, good service and the surrounding area.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

i would certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers. i will most certainly stay there again.
i love the location, the rooms are lovely, the staff are great and the food... well, it is the best calamari in cape town! as an old hout bay local, i just loved the feel of being at home again.
i stayed there with my daughter some weeks ago and we both enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Chapmans Peak hotel is a lovely place. What to start with ? The room ? Very cosy, contemporary, with a really nice view over Hout Bay beach.. The restaurant ? Simply the best of seafood, in particular the best calamaris in town (as it is usually described !), and also the lobster.. And, as we are french, we consider the wine part very seriously, and we recommend the Chenin Blanc with seafood.. The location ? Chapmans Peak Drive is at your feet, so it's easy to reach (with your own car, no public transport) the wine region (Stellenbosch, via Simon Town) and Cape Point..

Room Tip: Of course the best rooms are those with sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I travel to Cape Town on business quite often and, after experiencing other venues in the past, now always book in at Chapmans Peak Hotel.
Its location away from the CBD suits me in that Hout Bay has a tranquil, friendly environment in which to unwind after a busy day.
I have stayed in both the old & new sections of the hotel which each have their own special appeal to me.
Their room rates are very reasonable bearing in mind the many factors I take into account when away on business - for me this place has it all !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room - its well worth a bit extra Rooms 1 & 11 are the best in the older s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.