We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try tarragona lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarragona Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tarragona Lodge to your Saves list
Tarragona Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O.Box 26887 | Hout Bay, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“try tarragona lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, Lilien and Derek were perfect hosts, so welcoming. Lodge is home from home, staff very friendly, rooms very clean and spacious. Would recommend to anyone, but you need to have a car to get around. Go try and enjoy.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any rooms not to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I took my mom for a special couple of days at Tarragona. What a beautiful place, and the facilities and service were impeccable. The lodge is quite beautiful, surrounded by mountains, and in a quiet street. The attention to detail from Lilien and Derek and their team was top class; from the stunning breakfast (huge selection of hot and cold food, including specially baked bran muffins, fruit, yoghurt, wide array of baked goods, and your choice of hot food, including omelettes made to your specifications); to the little touches, like the complementary port in the rooms, and your bed turned down every night with a chocolate on the pillow! The lodge has an honesty bar in the gorgeous upstairs guest area, with vaulted wooden ceilings and cathedral windows overlooking the beautiful gardens and mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful, and each room and the upstairs guest area have a wide selection of books. Perfect place for a relaxing few days...we will definitely return.

Room Tip: You do need a car, as Hout Bay is a couple of kilometers away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved everything about the place. Lilien and Derek were extremely helpful and even offered to give us a lift in their car when we found getting a taxi difficult and helped us with a flat battery. It has a lovely peaceful setting, excellent breakfasts and convenient for Cape Town. Would definitely recommend it and would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Tarragona Lodge, Hout Bay, Cape Town, and would not hesitate to recommend it. The owners were very friendly and did all they could to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.
I had inadvertently left the headlights on on our hire car and ended up with a flat battery. When we asked about contacting the car hire company the owner, Derek, immediately got jump leads from his own car and jump started my hire car - that is going the extra mile for your customers.
The grounds of the lodge are beautiful, the breakfast was very nice, and our whole stay was a complete delight.
Thanks, Tim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Tarragona. The staff was excellent and helpful to all our needs (travelling with two small children). We celebrated christmas and we got it all incl mr Santa who came with gifts to the kids. Can strongly recommend this B&B if you are staying in Hout Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

For our family it was the perfect end to a perfect holiday. The lovely owners met us on arrival giving us all the necessary information on this wonderful city, maps, attractions places to eat etc. We then spent the next 4 days trying to fit it all in. The only trouble was when we were out and about we were not utilising the great facilities at the Tarragon. If and when we come back we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wonderful people run this lodge that is an oasis in a beautiful, serene setting. Everything you need is there and if it isn't, just ask; the owners and family are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet.
Hout Bay is nearby and the city of Cape Town is an easy and gorgeous drive away.
Don't miss the sights (like Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, vineyards, World of Birds, Chapman's Peak...) in every direction with the Tarragona in the center. Renting a car can be done for a good price at the Lodge.
Have a great stay!!

Room Tip: Simply can't go wrong, but if you do have any special requests, one of the owners will good care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarragona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarragona Lodge

Address: P.O.Box 26887 | Hout Bay, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarragona Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarragona Lodge, Four Star luxury accommodation and exclusive wedding venue, situated on the southern slopes of Table Mountain, one of the new 7 Wonders of Nature, in scenic Hout Bay on the Atlantic Seaboard. An ideal conference venue or to host your special event or function. Twenty minutes from the Cape Town City Centre and the very popular V & A Waterfront. Cape Town International Airport is an easy 25 minute drive.Tarragona Lodge is a world away from the hustle and bustle of city life but is very central to all the attractions of the Cape Peninsula. Situated in Hout Bay a working fishing harbour Tarragona is a short drive from Chapman's Peak and Camps Bay. The world renown Kirstenbosch Gardens are a five minute drive away. The World of Birds, the biggest bird park in Africa is on our door step. The Lodge boasts a lovely selection of bird books. Three wine estates are situated just over Constantia neck and we have 6 top class golf courses in close proximity.Tarragona Lodge is an ideal "Boutique Conference Venue". We have successfully hosted numerous corporate conferences, corporate events, corporate functions, team building as well as product launches. The location, architecture and grounds make it an excellent filming venue. Free Wi Fi is available.The ten spacious, well appointed and tastefully furnished suites make up the private accommodation of Tarragona Lodge. All have either a balcony overlooking, or patio opening onto, the lovely indigenous garden, pool and entertainment area. Each spacious unit is equipped with telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, satellite TV and built in safes.Mulligans, the cocktail bar at Tarragona Lodge, provides an excellent venue in which to relax, unwind and enjoy sundowners after a hectic day of "relaxation" in and around the Fairest Cape. During the winter months the Tarragona Lodge open hearth fires add to the allure of the accommodation.Breakfasts are special, a great start to your day, choose from a Continental buffet followed by hot English breakfast. Tarragona Lodge does offer lunch or dinner by arrangement, in addition Hout Bay and the environs are able to offer visitors a large selection of excellent eateries and restaurants to choose from, our helpful staff will gladly recommend some choices.We endeavour to be as Green as possible. Our hot water is via means of a heat pump, all packaging and glass is recycled and organic matter composted.Tarragona is a home from home, lovely spacious garden and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tarragona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarragona Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarragona Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.