We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking View and Gracious Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montebello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Montebello to your Saves list
Villa Montebello
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   72 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
From R1,500 per night
Ranked #4 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking View and Gracious Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed this September ('12) in Villa Montebello which sits high on Mount Rhodes. We found the location to be within easy travel to the various sites we were interested in seeing; Cape Town, Wine Country, Cape Peninsula, Kirstenbosch Gardens. Catherine and Patrice are gracious hosts who came here from France and have created a charming and lovely home. The breakfast is elegant and they will successfully make you anything you want. They are quite knowledgeable about the area and are eager to share their insights to make your stay enjoyable. We opted to stay in the smaller outside room and it was fine for our purposes since we were going to be out and about. For more space or if you intent to be in the room more, the suites in the home offer beautiful accommodations and breathtaking views. Security concerns were addressed by security systems and we never felt the slightest bit ill at ease. Patrice and Catherine are very hospitable and we would definitely opt to stay again with them at Villa Montebello if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Owner at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you again for this very nice guest review. We appreciated very much and let hope see you again in Hout Bay.
Patrice & catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
199
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights last October at this amazing B&B. It is well located near all the differents tourist attractions and a few minutes to the Cape. The accomodation are just beautiful specially the suite. The surrounding are very beautiful for the eyes and very relaxing and peacefull. Patrice and Catherine are excellent guides and their breakfast is so good that will keep you full till supper. In my opinion, this place could easily be categorize a 5 stars. I highly recommend Villa Montebello for an exceptionnal experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Google Translation
Merci encore pour cette belle guest review et j'espère à bientôt

Patrice & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Montebello for 6 days and 5 nights in October. The accommodations were lovely, clean, inviting, and restful. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit, cereal, breads, homemade jams, yogurt, and included bacon, sausage, and eggs upon request. Patrice and Catherine were such helpful, friendly, and gracious hosts. They shared maps, checked on weather conditions, recommended sights, and gave us driving route tips. The B & B sits on a mountainside overlooking Hout Bay and has beautiful gardens, a pool, and amazing views. It is conveniently located close to the wharf, Hout Bay, and other areas. We highly recommend this B & B to anyone interested in a tranquil setting with great views and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Our room was in a separate unattached building close to the main house.Very quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you again for this lovely guest review. We enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Patrice & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely stay! The location to prime beaches is excellent and also close enough to Waterfront and other central locations.

We spent six nights in the Mountain Room. Very peaceful and the rooms are very quite and relaxing.

Patrice and Catherine are wonderful people and made our stay very enjoyable.

Highly recomended.

Thank You from The Neats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you again for this lovely guest review. We enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Patrice & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Simply stunning! It is the ideal place to spend a dream holidays. The convenience is fantastic, with a view stunning natural surrounding the hotel and suitable for those who have days of deep pleasure or romance. It has a stunning garden to play with kids and a wonderful breakfast, suitable for leisure time and relax. The service is fantastic, especially the friendliness of the owner, Mr. Patrice and his staff who made my family and I feel at home. Vila Montebello is simply a place to have a dream holidays!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you again for this lovely guest review. We enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Patrice & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent 3 nights in August in the separate Cottage room. The room has a good view of the mountains surrounding Hout Bay. The rooms were always quiet and warm even though the weather was cold. Breakfast was great and the host and staff were helpful and very friendly. I would recommend this guest house to anyone planning to visit the Cape Peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice M, Manager at Villa Montebello, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you again for this lovely guest review. We enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Patrice & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We already stayed 2 times in this guesthouse which means it was great. Very friendly hosts and staff, magnificent breakfast. Nearby Cape Town but also very quiet. Many things to visit in the neighbourhood.
We had a fabulous room (Rhodes) with stunning views, from the bath you can overlook the valley.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montebello

Address: 72 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Montebello, a Luxury Guest House, Bed & Breakfast, is very well known for its best and exceptional location in Hout Bay in a very much protected environment .... And for its 4 stars services as well. Nearby Cape Town and all Cape Peninsula stunning tourist sites, on the heights of Mount Rhodes (with a private access to the Mount Rhodes Natural Park), this elegant guest house provides the ideal retreat in peaceful surroundings, complimented by panoramic views on the ocean and of the Constantia and table Mountains. The views are simply magnificent. Hout Bay is considered as well to be one of the most beautiful sights of the Cape Peninsula for its valley surrounded by the mountains of Constantia and the end of Table Mountain, for the very scenic Chapman's peak drive, for its fishing harbor and the duikers Island with 9.000 Seals. Friendly and attentive French hosts welcome you. Villa Montebello is closed to Sandy Bay and Llandudno, 2 of the most beautiful beaches of South Africa. Villa Montebello offers 4 luxury / exclusive and spacious rooms with private entrance and with en-suite bathrooms. Each room is with double king size bed or twin king size beds (on request), private terrace, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, mini bar and mini fridge. Enjoy delicious full gastronomic continental and English breakfasts on the garden terrace closed to the solar heated swimming pool with an amazing view and environment. Quality restaurants and shops are nearby. Family and children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montebello Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montebello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.