We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

I spent 5 nights at the Tarragon with a group of friends in 2 of the villas. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Tarragon is impeccably designed, well staffed, located in an ideal setting with fantastic, serene views of the surrounding areas. Mark and Julia are a joy. Overall, none of us had anything negative to say about the experience -- amazing for a group of New Yorkers! Would recommend the Tarragon to anyone.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
206
130
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

Spent 8 nights in Saffron - a cottage for two in Feb 07.
All mod cons for self-catering; beautifully - and artistically - decorated; large comfortable bed. Superb quiet, secure, hillside location with a great view - one of its special assets - best seen from the pool. Decent size swimming pool. Grounds, beautiful garden, swimming pool all well maintained and very clean.
All the cottages have their own terrace for BBQ and al fresco eating. Some could do with the foliage cutting back to make the view more visible from their terrace.
Julia and Mark both very friendly and helpful - as are all the staff.
Definitely a place to return to in the future.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

I was blown away by how beautiful and stylish The Tarragon is. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates stunning views, and spacious and beautifully furnished accomodation. Mark and Julia are welcoming and helpful hosts, and they have done an amazing job in creating The Tarragon. It is an excellent location, close to fabulous restaurants and beaches, and shops not too far away. We were able to access all the sites in and around Cape Town with ease, as well as enjoy the excellent standard of facilities at The Tarragon, all of which made my first (and not last) experience of South Africa truly memorable. Thanks to Mark and Julia, and their team of friendly staff.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

I spent three weeks staying at the Tarragon in January 2007 and can't wait to go back. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the gardens have plenty of private areas plus a lovely pool, long enough for a decent swim. A grand BBQ area wasn't used this year bit next time we will definately invite friends for a sunset Brai. The staff are delightful and I felt totally secure during my stay. Hout Bay has many places to eat and to drink the wonderful wines and the proximety of The Tarragon to Cape Town central, KIrstenbosch and the Constantia winelands makes it an all round winner. As I said before don't tell a soul!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We spent two days at The Tarragon in Hout Bay in the Cape Town area and experienced perfect service in these luxury bungalows (self-catering). Mark and Julia Flemming and their team of gardeners, maids and laundry girls make you feel pampered. Extra-safe on the slopes of table mountain you enjoy living in beautiful nature with spectacular views. One can barbecue with grills etc provided and enjoy the lovely pool area. Each bungalow has a terrace of its own and if you like you hardly notice the other guests. All of this is shared among only four parties when the Tarragon is fully booked. We would have liked to stay longer but two days is all we could get. We shall certainly return for a top notch accomodation that is well worth the money.

  • Liked — the combination of perfect scenery, direct access of elegant garden and pool from the bungalow and the absolute peace
  • Disliked — instable WLAN access
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

4 of stayed in Ivy Cottage, at the Tarragon. We found it to be all that it promised and more. The website photos do not do it justice. The pool and gardens were well cared for and it was so peaceful and beautiful to look out over the surrounding areas.
The Cottage itself was well equipped and the level of cleanliness was to a very high standard. Just the location for a totally stress free and relaxing holiday. The owner was also extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — The high standards
  • Disliked — Distance from nearest shops, car was definitely needed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week break in Cape Town. This was my first time back in 8 years with the family and it just gets better and better.

I booked a few nights at The Tarragon and could not have asked for anything more. Luxury all round...from the most comfortable beds to exquisite views this cottage is a 'winner'. The cottage offers everything and the location is spot on. Close to the beaches, (Hout Bay, Llundudno, Camps Bay, Clifton....) all which are stunning; and also only a short drive to the city centre and Waterfront. I have traveled SA ; the Western Cape in particular for many months and you will not find a more idyllic spot than The Tarragon. The only regret I have is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tarragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.