We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Tarragon! Perfect spacious, well decorated house, stunning views and a perfect spot to explore Cape Town and the winelands. Beautiful garden, great swimming pool and a very friendly host. We highly recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the cottage Angelica which was perfect for a family of 5 or 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTarragon, Owner at The Tarragon, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments,we hope to see you again at The Tarragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
197
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in The Tarragon whilst on a business/ pleasure trip. We experienced two of the accommodations - Jasmine and Angelica.

Jasmine - clean, spacious, great little outdoor space.
Angelica - just stunning! Perfect for a small group of family or friends. Large outdoor area with amazing views.

We had access to a laundry room which was very useful. The Internet (or lack of it) was a problem at the time but I do think this was a temporary issue and the owners reimbursed us for this inconvenience.

Location - the property is in a secure 'estate'. We had no worries about our safety, but don't let your guard down because of this.

We didn't use the pool or garden because the weather was cold, but it was all very well maintained and beautiful.

Overall we were super happy and would not hesitate to recommend The Tarragon and wild certainly stay there again if back in the area.

Room Tip: Angelica - just stunning! Perfect for a small group of family or friends. Large outdoor area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervilla, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hout bay is clearly one of the best place to stay when you are visiting Cape town area with a family and "The Tarragon" just makes our stay in cape town unforgettable. It's a really fantastic place.
Mark and Julia are great hosts and can advise you for everything, restaurants and attractions and can even fix things for you such as a visit in Hout bay township (and it's a really appreciated thing since we are french and it's not that easy to fix things by ourselves). They even let us stay in the biggest cottage available named "Angelica" while we have asked for a smaller one. We really appreciated this way to manage cottages.
We really deeply recommend this cottage.
Jean-françois and Muriel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Tarragon is a rather unusual vacation experience. The setting is spectacular -- right at the base of Table Mountain in a very affluent community. The properties around it are obviously owned by very well off people. The Tarragon itself is a spectacular property that is very secure. The rooms are actually fully equipped apartments, with a bedroom, living room, kitchen, eating area and very nice bath. The grounds are immaculate and have a very nice pool. Transportation can be limited, so you are best advised to either rent a car, or use the driver that the proprietor recommends. His name is Wise, and he speaks perfect English and is a true gentleman. Wise took us everywhere: the waterfront, the Botanical gardens, a winery, even around the Cape of Good Hope. He is a true gem.

The one thing I would recommend, if you don't have a car, is bring a backpack. There is a grocery store that is about a 25 minute walk, but the return is all uphill.

I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

In terms of locality, the beautiful views of Cape Town and security of the area this was the best choice I made. The cottage we stayed in (Angelica) was the most suitable cottage and we shared it as 3 couples and it was the most convinient cottage. The sitting room (lounge) is big enough and the dinning table; as well as there are adequate in the kitchen and house (WiFi etc).

Room Tip: If you are a family please choose Angelica as it is meant for and suitable for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We like to spoil ourselves a bit at the end of our holidays... our last stop in South Africa was at The Tarragon which was perfect! It's located a quiet area with lots of trees and a beautiful garden with ponds and pool, but also still near the "must go" places Cape Town, Table Mountain Cableway, Cape Peninsula and Chapman's Peak Drive. The spacious cottage was very comfortable with tasteful decorations and there's a large selection of DVD movies to choose from. We enjoyed cooking some of our meals on the large barbeque - the supermarket nearby is of very good quality. Thanks to the whole team who works hard to make our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have seen a lot of nice places all over the world. Even in CT we spent a lot
of weeks enjoying the wonderful surounding. Hout Bay actually could touch our main
interest because meanwhile we are feeling a bit like coming home if coming again.
Guesthouse we saw many, any actually we also saw many advises on different platforms.

Lucky we that we finally found one more reason to go to Hout Bay again and again. We stayed in Tarragon Guesthouse and honestly speaking, we could not believe what we every day
enjoyed; pure and lovely feeling, quite and calm but close to beach and restaurants. We stayed
there at least 10 days and hardly we willing to move out after our vacation. If someone is looking for relaxing time in paradise, he should not miss the Tarragaon Guesthouse. The people are easy and helpful and the accomodation with the huge quite property you won't believe!!!
Looking for real Nr. 1 ? We now the place in Hout Bay :-)
by the way, hout bay beach offers a nice beach facing GYM, really good!

Room Tip: we stays in small room in front of the KOI-basin, very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tarragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.