We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, care & attention make this a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Love, care & attention make this a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was expecting a lot, based on all the raving reviews. Let me tell you: my expectations where not met. They were surpassed. Big time. From the moment you enter the gate you think but one thing: "WOW!". And you keep on thinking that for quite a while with every corner you turn.

The Tarragon is in fact a luxury property that has been divided up into several self contained units. Some big, some bigger. I stayed in Jasmine (the smallest or rather least biggest) and it was beautiful. Although the units are all on the same property and more or less part of one structure they feel very private.

You can tell that the owners have a great love for this place. Mark was there to welcome me personally and he is a very nice guy. Remember that if you arrive late you should bring some groceries. The nearest store closes at 8pm (3 min drive) but there is also a large Spar that is open till late (8 min drive).

You do need a car to stay at this property. It is not IN Cape Town, but in Houtbaai, a nice residential community. That makes for a far nicer stay in my opinion. Getting to Cape Town centre takes about 15 minutes. When you arrive you get a nice map pointing out some of the nicer spots in the area. I like this part of the Cape very much. It feels safe, also because The Tarragon is on a secured estate and itself has a big fence around it. Not that I expect you really need it there.

I would recommend the Tarragon also for the business traveller. It is the perfect apartment for when you need to do business in the area for shorter or longer periods. You can entertain guests easily and the wireless internet is fast and free.

Some other plusses:
Wonderful bed, nice powerful shower, TV + DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (with even some basic stuff like oil, salt, pepper etc), perfectly maintained ground, laundry is cheap and perfectly done and well: too much to tell.

Hard to imagine you get all this at a very reasonable price. All in all a perfect find. I would return in a heart beat.

Mark: thank you for being the perfect host!

  • Liked — The feel of the place, the attention to detail, the home-away-from-home sensation
  • Disliked — That it is 12hrs flying from my home, otherwise I would go every weekend.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
210
130
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

A haven of tranquil beauty in a sleepy little town surrounded by stunning, majestic landscapes.
This is what I came up with when I decided to describe The Tarragon in one little sentence.
Not something very easy to do because our stay there brings back so many thoughts and emotions.

We arrived about 5pm from our exhausting flights from Paris and JNB to be met by a very warm and reassuring Mark. He took the time to show us around and made us feel very welcome. Over the next few days, Mark was always to be found and was excellent on advice for restaurants, hikes, weather… just about anything! But he and Julia were very discreet and it felt like we had the place to our own.
Our four nights there were everything we had hoped and expected: days of discovery and adventure followed by cosy evenings in the beautiful Jasmine room which overlooked the koi pond. At the back were other rooms/suites overlooking the pool and the magical view over the valley.
At the end of each day we returned to our lodging with the very warm feeling that we were going “home” and not just back to some accommodation. A very warm feeling in the pit of one’s stomach…
I could go on and on, but all I can really say is go there yourselves. Meet Mark and Julia, settle into the quiet comfort of The Tarragon and enjoy beautiful Hout Bay and the surroundings. We will certainly be going back there…!

  • Liked — large rooms, views, nature
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We absolutely loved the Tarragon. We found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding area. The accommodation was beautiful; very stylish but also truly relaxing and very comfortable. The owners were absolutely charming and their attention to detail was exceptional. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Liked — Lovely lovely setting
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We spent a total of 4 nights at the Tarragon on two separate occasions and had a great stay both times. The location is excellent - just inland from Hout Bay means that it's far enough but not too far from Cape Town, and a short drive from Chapmans Peak and the rest of the Cape peninsula. The properties are very tastefully designed, the beds are great and there are good views across the valley from the terraces and the swimming pool / garden. The owners, Mark and Julia, also went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one, starting with champagne in the firdge when we arrived, lending us a local guidebook and recommending various restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed at one of the Tarragons houses - about 4 miles away from the Tarragon itself. It was simply wonderful. Clean, fresh and very elegant - staff came in every day to tidy up, and always left it spotless - flowers always put in vases on all the tables. We had a simply magical time. First class all round.

  • Liked — Bright, fresh and airy with everything to hand
  • Disliked — that we had to leave it!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We selected The Tarragon based on its ranking within Trip Advisor and the very positive comments. Sometimes, when a place has been so critically acclaimed your expectations are so high that the reality is a disappointment - this is certainly NOT the case with The Tarragon

From the moment you arrive, you feel very much at home in the tranquil and luxurious surroundings - made even more welcoming by Mark and Julia's warm hospitality. In addition, it is ideally placed for visiting all of the spectacular destinations in and around the Cape

Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

The Tarragon is a wonderful oasis. The apartments are beautifully decorated and have great views.

It is also in a great position. It is close to Hout Bay (fabulous beach), Llandudno (another beautiful beach - go there for world-class sunsets), Camps Bay (fabulous beach and restaurants), Chapman's Peak (out-of-this world views) and Constantia (for great wine, meals and picnics). It's also only 15 minutes from the centre of Cape Town (for some hustle and bustle) and Table Mountain.

Mark and Julia couldn't be more welcoming and full of handy tips and advice. The staff are great and the facilities just what you need for a relaxing break.

There is a downside - leaving......

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tarragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.