We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Doha
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This review is long overdue but I could not rest without shouting to the world how wonderful our stay was at The Tarragon in Hout Bay. It's the perfect place to stay in the Western Cape, particularly if you are travelling with family :)
We enjoyed the green luscious landscape, the oh so comfy beds, the lovely host Mark who was kind and helpful and just being in a safe, almost-close-to-everything place.

It's the perfect setting in the most perfect part of the world.

We will be back for sure!

***and thanks to Julia for including toys and games in one of the cupboards - it was a thoughtful touch and it kept my daughter busy and cheerful***

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
192
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an excellent location- for Cape Town, for Constantia, for the Cape. We stayed 3 nights in Jasmine. The rooms exude quality, the grounds are beautiful. Chapmans Peak drive is a must- and on our 2nd evening visit we saw large groups of whales 100 yards off shore. The local Thai restaurant gets full marks, and Le Coulomb was quite simply sensational, and for a complete contrast we enjoyed fish and chips by the beach. All the wine estates just up the road do breakfast- a lovely way to start the day. We highly recommend Tarragon- high quality, excellent value, a great combination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Cape Town eight times now and this was our third trip to the Tarragon. Now we have found it we no longer think about going anywhere else. The location is excellent on a quiet road between Hout Bay and Constantia Nek. Most visitors to Cape Town will find they do not go to the middle of the City that much. The Tarragon is much more convenient than central Cape Town for the beaches of Camps Bay, Llandudno and Hout Bay itself. It is also very convenient for Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, the Constantia wine estates, Cape Point and the penguins at Boulders Beach, the winelands and the cricket and rugby at Newlands. The prices are good value for the quality of what is on offer. And of course SA is cheap for many things, eg, petrol at 80p a litre and £1.50 for a glass of house wine in restaurant.

There is a small number of spacious cottages which are modern but built in a traditional stone style around beautiful and spacious gardens with wonderful mountain views and a beautiful pond with coy carp. Each cottage is very spacious and very well fitted out with everything you could want. The bathrooms are excellent with plentiful hot water. Kitchens are well equipped and there is satellite television (for those interested, I can see more Premier League football in SA than I can as a Sky customer in the UK!). There are also plenty of DVDs you can borrow. There is an excellent swimming pool which (unusually for SA) is heated which makes it luxuriously comfortable. There are also plenty of top-quality wooden loungers and umbrellas dotted round the gardens. The Tarragon is very suitable for families but as it is so spaciously set out it is also fine for a couple or adult group wanting a quiet time. You tend to get to know the other guests around the pool which makes for a nice small community atmosphere but the small number of guests makes it easy to keep to yourselves if that is what you prefer. Very often you will have the pool to yourself or there may be only one or two other people there.

Our favourite cottage is Thyme. This has three bedrooms and three bathrooms, one of which has a separate entrance which is good if your group do not want to "live in each other's pockets". You need to go outside to get from the bedrooms to the living room and kitchen but we have never found that a problem in the slightest. Each cottage also has a shaded outdoor table to eat at and a barbecue. We have found there is very little need to worry about security in the Cape Town area but for what it is worth there is a very efficient and easy-to-use security system. Each cottage has its own character and qualities - we have either stayed in all of them or been invited in for a drink etc by other guests.

The owners, Mark and Julia Fleming, do not live on site but are there every day and can always be reached instantly by text or phone if you have any queries. They are ideal hosts and their spirit makes the place what it is. They are very efficient and professional. They are also delightful people and you feel (in a good way) that you are staying with friends. They have a loyal and long-serving staff who clean and look after the beautiful grounds very well. Bedding and towels are changed very regularly. You can also have a whole basket of washing washed, dried, ironed and returned the next day for what it would cost to have a single item laundered at a UK hotel. This means you do not have to pack piles of clothes for a long stay. Mark and Julia are very knowledgable about places to visit, good restaurants and so on and there is plenty of visitor information available.

The only drawback is that The Tarragon has many repeat visitors, some of whom visit at the same time every year. So if you want to go in the December - March peak then book well in advance and be flexible on dates. Or you could visit out of the peak season when costs are much lower; the Cape Town "Winter" can often be better than the UK's so-called "Summer".

If you are thinking about going to Cape Town at any time of year then go ahead - you definitely will not regret it. And you won't find a better place to stay than The Tarragon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 4 days with friends at the Tarragon and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were able to travel to local golf courses, visit Cape Town and then come 'home' to relax by the lovely pool. It is an ideal place to stay if you want to combine sightseeing and chilling out in the Cape Town area. The accommodation is well thought out and comfortable and the gardens are spacious and attractive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When you're still at work planning time off, all holiday spots look marvelous and at some point you just take a leap of faith and just pray that what you've selected online will meet expectations. Our expectations were high: we wanted privacy, peace, space, proximity to the city, southern suburbs, both oceans and the winelands, a pool and garden that were child-friendly, a sense of security, self-catering but no washing up or housework, friendly and helpful but unintrusive staff, the ablitity to host family get-togethers, ... and a lot more that I'll just lump into the "leap of faith" phrase. The Tarragon was all we had hoped for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Title says it all
Why do we keep coming back?

Well if you really want to shoehorn in with other wealthy tourists round a small pool in Camps Bay and take in the night-life - then do so.
But if you want peace, tranquillity, fab pool, loads of space, lovely gardens, great service - then come here!

It is our little bit of paradise - so we really don't want to share it!
We have already booked to come back next year

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location of the Tarragon gives easy access to both coasts of the Cape peninsula, the local delights of Hout Bay, the more upmarket facilities of Constantia and the city of Cape Town itself.We have been six times and it has been just as welcoming every time. We have been lucky enough to stay in Angelica and Ivy, both of which are fantastic with superb views of the valley and the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tarragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.