We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Third stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came back for our third stay recently, arriving just after Christmas and staying for 9 nights.

It's a real pleasure coming back here. Our boys have grown up with this almost as a holiday home. Our youngest, who is now just under 3 and on his second visit wanted to stay forever - even if his parents had to go home!

We stayed in Thyme for the second time (we have also stayed in Ivy and Angelica). We like the fact that Thyme is right next to the Swimming Pool and as the weather was excellent once again, we went swimming most days. It's never busy as the number of cottages is small, but there is just enough interaction with other families to make it perfect for the boys.

The boys also liked "helping" Advocate the Gardener.They particularly liked watering the garden - but I'm sure they were just slowing him down. But as with all the staff here, Advocate was great, he took time to let the children water the plants with him.

Despite being rather disorganised and only requesting babysitting in early December, Mark and Julia were able to get the same (excellent) babysitter for the 3 nights we requested at what is the peak holiday period. They even offered to sit themselves if they couldn't get a babysitter - that is what you call service.

Housekeeping was once again excellent - better than 5 star hotels. The ability to leave a basket of dirty clothes and see them return washed and ironed the next day is just such a good facility when travelling with young children.

The main problem you'll find with The Tarragon is being able to secure the sought after dates - UK school holidays in particular. We booked more than 15 months in advance and still couldn't get the full two weeks. It is of course made worse by the repeat visitors just like us, who change from being a family with children of pre-school age to school age.

The only real negative for us is that the very child orientated restaurant Scarecrows (which was by the local Spar supermarket) has closed since our last trip and not open during the weekdays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
192
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We (a Dutch family of four, living in Paris now) spent a fantastic three weeks in South Africa and decided to spent our final three days in Taragon. Now we are sorry we did not stay a bit longer...

The location is superb (and safe) and the view of the town and the surrounding mountains from the well equipped house (we had the one for 6 persons), the glorious gardens and the lovely pool is truly magnificent. Mark and Julia are the perfect hosts, who will always tell you what to do in and around Kaapstad and in Houtbaai itself (what a lovely place! With not only a fantastic beach, but also lots of restaurants and a Spar supermarket close to the house). The rest of the staff is just as friendly and professional.
So we decided to make this the place where we want to stay for a week next time we visit South Africa and we cannot wait!!

Ron and Jacqueline van der Veer - Bakker

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tarragon with our 16 month year old for 9 days over New Year. We really could not rate the Tarragon more highly. We loved it so much we have booked ourselves in for 2 years time! Beautiful place, great staff, superb location.

Room Tip: Angelica is the best of all the rooms (3 bedrooms) Out of the 1 beds, Jasmine is the nicer, no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been in The Tarragon already for 3 times. It is a great place to stay; luxurious and comfortable accomodation in a beautifull setting. Mark and his staff provide you with warm hospitality and a pleasant service. A perfect central place to discover the Cape area. Good value for money.

Room Tip: All cottages are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biddenden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had a truly superb Christmas -- the family of nine adults and three kids aged six months to four years had a glorious time. the setting was superb, the three villas we took were lovely and the staff really could not have been nicer. we felt secure at all times, nothing was too much trouble for Mark and Julia. it is a perfect base for exploring the area. pool just right, each villa really well planned and you felt you had total privacy. a classy venue which i would unhesitatintly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: we as a large group took the three villas together by the pool. frankly any of them would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Tarragon has it all - comfort, privacy, excellent location, good value. We went with a group of friends which worked brilliantly as you have your own cottage so can meet up for activities, meals and trips but have your own space at the end of the day. The views from the cottages are amazing and it's just a 5 minute drive to the sea. You are made to feel incredibly welcome and at home - it's so relaxing and peaceful there and the perfect solution to holidays with children. Much more user friendly than a hotel and far better value. Well stocked kitchen and facilities, and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. We would happily have spent several weeks there! There is enough to keep children busy there so no need to go out all the time: jungle gym, fish to feed, wonderful pool, DVDs and games, but when you do go out all the sights and amenities are very accessible. Would love to return at some stage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Tarragon is lovely and welcoming self catering accommodation. I traveled with my 20 month old son, my husband and my parents and we all equally enjoyed it. Mark is welcoming and accommodating and makes you feel at home. The views are spectacular and Hout Bay is lovely. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ivy and it was lovely; but had stairs down to the grounds which may not be appropri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tarragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.