We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to hang out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Grill

Pirates Grill
Victoria Road, Hout Bay 7801, South Africa
+27 21 797 5659
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 43 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, International
Restaurant details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good place to hang out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere, especially to watch sport. Service good and friendly. Food good, but unfortunately the restaurant area lacks atmosphere.
The main bar area is best to have a drink and watch sport but for me the big downer is they allow smoking, so as a general rule its my second choice to other bars.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bad tasting burgers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I live in hout bay. A few of my friends rave about the steaks and I think the ribs at pirates. On a really hot sunday evening we felt like burgers, which was a big mistake.. they tasted like processed meat. We were so beyond disappointed. I will never go back. To be honest ive no idea why we went there in the first place. Its a dive.. but nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgustingly dirty with broken furniture which is a pity as the pub grub is fair”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Houtbay Pub and Grill a number of times. The decay is getting worse. Tables are broken and dirty. I will not use the toilets. Service average. It is really a pity as the food it not too bad and the chicken schnitzel is good. Not sure if, given the state of the restaurant, that I will eat there again.

Werner de Waal

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hungry late at night?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went there late one night after a very long day. Service was great from the very friendly waitress. Food was traditional pub food - actually quite a good selection and quite fresh for ordering at 9.30 pm. We were treated like kings even though we were probably the only people in there at that time on week day. Highly recommended - well done guys!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The little steak squares were absolutely brilliant and the fact that the restaurant opened until late was a wonderful surprise. Great company and friendly staff and patrons

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates Grill also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Pirates Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.