We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable spa experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa to your Saves list
Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa
16 Victorskloof Rd, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very enjoyable spa experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A very positive experience  !  I booked a morning at the spa with a friend where we had the full body exfoliation and massage....my therapist Chanel was excellent! We spent time in the sauna, steam room and were able to help ourselves to refreshments. The spa has a rustic feel to it ...and the view of Haut through fold back doors while we had pedicures added to the whole experience. Bev the manager made us feel very welcome ... It was busy but that added to the experience as everyone was enjoying a Saturday spa day..!

I would recommend this experience as excellent value for money ....and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
9
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bought a voucher via City Slicker and what a great deal it was. We were treated to a 2 and a half hour "spa morning" of utter bliss. Sure there was a bit of miscommunication bout sandals and own towels for jacuzzi but none the less, we braved the cold and indulged. The coffee, muffins and snacks helped :)

The rooms are lovely, clean a spacious with fantastic views of Hout Bay! Sitting on the bed or balcony looking out was fantastic. Rooms were warm and our host was very nice. Breakfast was very simple but very tasty.

If can, visit one of my favourite restaurants in Hout Bay, just round the corner. KITIMA - remember to book in advance thou!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Half day Spa was terrible. The rooms were not heated. there were not even a carpet by bedside. Nowhere to keep your clothes. Used cheap gowns, did not even have slippers. Snacks was included and that was a biscuit with coffee. Plastic cheap water jug used for our water. Used very cheap soaps and washes as well. The body salt scrub felt like they used rocks and was actually painful. Music played was inappropiate as it was like Hip Hop - No relaxing music at all.

No quality products was used at all.

Definately not worth it as it did not leave a "I want to come back experience."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited the spa with some friends and it was the worst experience ever! The spa did not have a relaxing atmosphere at all, old furniture with old blankets covering them, no tranquil music playing in the background, instead we could hear the manager arguing with staff members. The refreshments were old cookies and wrinkled apples. We had to make our own tea/coffee together with the staff and we were served water out of an old plastic jug, without any ice or lemon slices. The therapists seemed young and inexperienced. Our first treatment was a scrub, which was absolutely terrible!!! The scrub was extremely course and was rubbed on your body with brutal force, no oil involved... The scrub was only 2min long (luckily) and did not even include hands or feet. We were then taken to the sauna, where we had to sit for an hour, while the treatments were rushed? We cancelled our session and requested our money back. The bathrooms were untidy and the previous client's empty bottles were still all over the floor. Totally overpriced and definitely not worth calling a luxury spa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our day at the Victoria-Lodge and spa. The staff were very professional and friendly and the whole environment was relaxed and warm. The facilities are clean and everything was in order and taken care for us. The view is beautiful and the lunch and champagne were a delicious treat! I will most definitely go again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

if you want to visit the beautiful Hout bay, this is the place to stay. Beautiful setting, lovely guest house (especially the view from Room 1 over the sea and Hout Bay), good spa facilities and very impressed with the halfday treatments and the therapists. Thank you very much, and a special thanks to Bev, well will be back. Mr & (the lovely) Mrs Nel.

Room Tip: only option in my book is room 1 - its got the best view, and what a lovey view it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Really disappointing experience. Inexperienced staff (the massage consisted of rubbing copious amounts of oil into your skin - no technique or skill at all). Seemed like a production line - moving from one room to another. No secure place to store bags. The wrap consisted of aqueous cream being rubbed over you and then wrapped in plastic. We left before the full treatment was completed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa

Address: 16 Victorskloof Rd, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Lodge is simply unique. Its originality and beauty impact themselves to you as you arrive and aura of peace and tranquility immediately settles upon you – all your troubles and difficulties can be shed in an instant, you have found your happy place. Amazingly, this paradise is situated high up with scenic views of Hout Bay, sea and mountains, secluded yet close enough to all the action Cape Town and surrounds have to offer. Besides the special decor touches we offer:• Absolute privacy• Immaculate service to our guests• Beautiful walking garden• Amazing symbiosis between the natural mountain rock and building structure• Exquisite panoramic views of the valley and bay area• A view from every room just as stunning as the next. Victoria Lodge is a must see, must feel, must have experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Lodge Luxury Guest House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.