We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenstube Restaurant and Beer Garden

Alpenstube Restaurant and Beer Garden
28 Victoria Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
0217902059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: German, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Neighborhood spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited based on the high ratings but felt it was a little overrated. Don't get me wrong the food was very good and we enjoyed the Unusual selection meat on the menu , the service was good. No complaints. Just not outstanding to be so highly rated. I would describe it as a casual relaxed place. No need to dress up. Its like a small neighborhood place - bar and restaurant. Would go again but with different expectations and a very empty stomach!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch with my German in-laws. Aboslutely amazing. Best Eisbein ever! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Living in Hout Bay for 34 years we are spoilt for choice. However I want to mention one specific place and that is the hidden secret: Alpenstube. The quiet ambiance, the most welcome fireplace in winter, the family owned service and last but definitely not least the master chef! The food and presentation is wonderful. Do try their Eisbein or Kudu with cherry or Cape gooseberry sauce. Heaven. Lovely beers on tap. Senior specials on Wednesdays with 20% off the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really a great experience. From the smiles you get when you enter this restaurant, to the warmth ,the atmosphere and the food. The Kudu Fillet was amazing! Thumbs up for the chef. Even the guests in the restaurant were friendly and you can see they are return clients. This feels like you are dining with a family. This family owed restaurant/ business is a little hidden gem in Hout bay. I would definitely refer people to this restaurant. The Imported beers and the Gluhwein is a must try!! We WILL return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The BEST German Food in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We used TA to help make our decision for a good birthday lunch and couldn't be happier we settled on Alpenstube. Easy to find little wooden 'chalet' with the absolute best German food. Couldn't fault a single dish (and we swopped out forkfuls with relish) and will easily reccomend the restaurant to those looking for legit German food. Tender meats, light dumplings and flavorful side-dishes. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenstube Restaurant and Beer Garden also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Alpenstube Restaurant and Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenstube Restaurant and Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.