We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views - great Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Deck Restaurant

Lookout Deck Restaurant
Lot 65 Quayside | Hout Bay Harbour, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 790 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 50 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lookout Deck Hout Bay arguably boasts one of the best views in the Western Cape. Situated on the water's edge in the Hout Bay harbour, the restaurant boasts breathtaking mountain and ocean views.The restaurant has an extensive menu including: premier seafood, freshly caught line fish from the local fisherman, live Cape rock lobster, succulent LM prawns, juicy black tiger prawns, fresh steamed black mussels, as well as the finest cuts of A-grade meat. There's a great selection of appetizing salads, lighter snack baskets, wood-fired pizzas and hearty breakfasts.Japan meets Hout Bay with a new Sushi Bar on the deck. Wasabi greets Sashimi with Maki & California rolls and more on the side!The Oyster Bar continues to draw cheers with Champagne accompanying chucked live oysters.The bar stocks local and international beers, including Amstel, Stella and Castle Lite on tap. The wine list reflects the wine growing regions of the Cape.Enjoy sensational sundowners and cocktails whilst listening to local live music on selected evenings.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views - great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Perched on the edge of the harbor with great views of the mountains, fishing boats and seals surfacing just below our table. The prawns were great and the calamari the best I've had. Perfect for a sunny day with a bottle of chilled Cape wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    94
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Seafood, sea-view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Went here for a long lunch on a day off and had the prawns which were delicious. We sat outside on the ground floor and enjoyed the view of seals playing in the water and mountains. Service was a little slow, but we weren't in a hurry. Will visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing, yet again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We're Hout Bay locals, and repeatedly fall for the temptation of the superb setting of this restaurant. And every time we are disappointed. Last night we resolved not to eat there again. EVER. We have tried it all. Seafood, breakfast, pizzas, pasta, sushi. One word - bland. The chef seems to be either on a tight budget for spices and herbs, or completely unimaginative.This is strictly a sunset drinks place. That is, if you don't mind sharing your space with rats on the outdoor deck. And are prepared to pay exorbitant prices for wine. More's the pity. This must be one of the best settings a restaurant could possibly have. I can only surmise the income from hordes of tourists over the summer and weekends keep the business ticking over. What a missed opportunity. (Ps. Other reviewers mention the awful smell - we know the restaurant has no control over the fish factory down the road).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold food , poor service and an appalling smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Called in for a lunch time treat and were ' treated ' to a 40 minute wait for our food which arrived in two deliveries , mine cold , obviously had been waiting , and later for my husband. The food was very poorly presented and it must have been the chefs day off as the garlic sauce was a couple of raw pieces of garlic over the cold and chewy calamari steak and raw rosemary smashed into potatoes that still had the crunch of soli on them , it was not a good experience.
The worst part was sitting by the water looking at dirty scummy water with discarded food containers, plastic bottles and other too awful to mention stuff floating by , just when we thought it couldn't get much worst the fish factory belched black smoke and we were surrounded by a nauseating smell. We won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We go to this restaurant every year when we visit Cape Town. I love Hout Bay and this restaurant is set right on the water in the harbour, with plenty of bird life and seals right outside the window. We generally go for the prawns, especially when on special, which they were this year. But the menu is varied, if rather pricey by South African standards. Draught beer and good wines add to the attraction. Staff are friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Deck Restaurant also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Lookout Deck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Deck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.