We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, high quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CUBE Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added CUBE Guest House to your Saves list
CUBE Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Perfectly located, high quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Thank you Patrick and Dirk for your warm welcome and help to organise our stay in Cape Town! We felt like home with you, and your place is beautiful!
Hopefully we'll come back some day...
Kind regards, Maria & Philippe

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
236
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Cube at the beginning of Dec 2013. Patrick and Dirk were excellant hosts who made our first stay in South Africa very smooth and stress free. As this was our first time, we were a bit nervous but having their prepaid mobile phone to use help us feel more relaxed when we were travelling around Cape Town. Dirk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful to our needs. Their Guest House is lovely, with excellant decor. We stayed for 3 nights in the Cosmopolitan Suite which was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights, and really nothing to complaint about. The guys even made it possible for us to change rooms so we could move into the beautiful cottage at the pool. Moreover the two seem to read your mind and help you with reservations and tips around Houtbay and Capetown.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed 6 nights with Patrick and Dirk and their two wonderful dogs Mila and Paul, as part of a 2-week stay in the Cape Town area. Overall fantastic experience. Everything that's been said thus far can be echoed by us, including the brilliant idea of the guest pre-paid cell phone, which helped out immensely, the dinner recommendations and the super breakfast spread. Thank you to Chester as well for all of his hospitality and assistance. Would definitely stay again, and plan on it!
-Pete & Rachael

Room Tip: Go for the corner suite room. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The first two weeks of November 2013 we stayed in the Cube guesthouse, and it was simply wonderful. The hosts were not only friendly and very helpful, but incredibly nice and caring. They provided us with amazing tips no tourist would ever find and made our stay an amazingly relaxing and unforgettable experience. The house itself was more than comfortable, very clean and everything, including the breakfast was extraordinary. We will definitely come to CUBE if we will ever get the chance to come back to that region of South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I usually prefer "my" Mandarin Orientals and Four Seasons ;-) Still, I decided to move into CUBE Guest House for a couple of nights during my visit to Cape Town. It was my first time Guest House experience and I didn't miss anything ;-) Of course, there is no bar or restaurant in the house (but you will have a wide variety of excellent choices very close to CUBE Guest House, e.g. "Kitima", an outstanding and stylish Thai restaurant (three minutes away by car)).

CUBE is beautifully designed. The garden is perfecly landscaped. Everything is very well maintained. You can feel that all of the owner's (Dirk & Patrick) passion go into what they are doing: Being perfect hosts with service from the heart.
I had the pleasure of staying in the Corner Suite which offers stunning views over Hout Bay, the entire valley and the sea.
The service is impeccable, breakfast offers anything you can possibly want (you meet nice other guests there), the rooms are very well equipped (even a Mini Bar) and the beds offer great comfort…. The weather wasn't the greatest when I was there, but the house offers many comfy areas where you can read and relax if you cannot go outside. Of course, there is a great poolside if it's sunny and you are not up to running around and exploring the Western Cape. The two cute and very well behaving dogs, Paul and Mila were the best compensation for my beloved dog that I could not bring on that long trip.
Go for Cube Guest House if you can. You will not regret it! This was not my last Cube Guest House experience!

Room Tip: If it's available, go for the Corner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were proud to be the first Australian guests at cube. Now that is out of the way let me tell you about Cape Town. Unless you are 20 and feel the need to drink yourselves silly in downtown cape town the best parts of the experience of south South Africa are found twenty minutes in every direction.

One of these experiences is Hout Bay. The accommodation at cube was fantastic, the people wonderful and the experience was our single favorite memory. And we are frequent travellers. Paul (beautiful golden retriever)would wander in and sleep on our rug in the sun and have Dirk look worried as he tried to find him! The sunsets beautiful, the hospitality likewise. Cannot recommend this enough but make sure you hire a car no matter where in cape town you stay.

Can't wait to go back. Thanks heaps to Dirk, Patrick and Paul. Thanks also to the other people who worked there who went out of their way to accommodate also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CUBE Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CUBE Guest House

Address: 20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CUBE Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in an elevated residential area providing breathtaking views onto the mountain range and the sea. Be served with our fresh and home-made breakfast on one of our terraces or enjoy relaxing moments underneath palmtrees next to the heated swimming pool in our large garden area. Our modern and comfortably furnished house provides an open, amicable atmosphere to guarantee an entirely relaxing stay.Surrounded by green hillsides, Hout Bay is nestled in a valley opening out into a picturesque bay and small fishing port. Thanks to the central location, within a few minutes you can reach the city centre, stunning sandy beaches, beautifully situated golf courses as well as the Cape Town’s Wine Region. Furthermore, Hout Bay is the starting point for the famous corniches Chapman’s Peak Drive, which leads you right to the Cape of Good Hope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CUBE Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CUBE Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CUBE Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.