We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet B&B with beautiful views of mountains and Haut Bay. Grounds are large and beautiful, as is the house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CUBE Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added CUBE Guest House to your Saves list
CUBE Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet B&B with beautiful views of mountains and Haut Bay. Grounds are large and beautiful, as is the house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights at this B&B which is run by a friendly and polite German couple. Breakfast was set up in the garden every morning and was a delight. Fresh fruit and baked goods and some home made preserves as well as eggs cooked to order. There are some nice restaurants nearby which we enjoyed after our hosts recommended them.
We stayed in a corner room with commanding views of the mountains and bay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
283
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a fantastic week in Cape Town, and staying at CUBE was the best decision we made in the whole trip! Not only is it a beautiful home with nice views of the mountains and good location for getting to all of the sites around, but Dirk and Patrick are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area and where to go when. Our friends recommended CUBE so we didn't even see all the reviews before we went, but after our week there can definitely say it lives up to the glowing reports from everyone who has stayed there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Comb view which has it's own little grassy terrace, room has lots of light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Cube Guesthouse for 6 days, it is a beautiful location ! The breakfast is excellent and the service too...
Dirk and Patrick are very nice hosts, helping with all you need to make your holiday unforgettable.
We would love to come back next year.

Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful !

Heidi and Agnes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We never read the other reviews prior to staying at Cube, but looking at the ratings from other guests, they were all correct.

Patrick & Dirk are great - good fun, very professional and mines of information about the area. Nothing was too much trouble and they could not have done any more to ensure that we had a great time - booking us shark dives, horse riding , nice restaurants. How many places care as much as that? Not many amigos!

Hout Bay area was really relaxed and completely safe.

We met lots of other really nice guests at Cube and we had a great laugh.

Paul (the Cube's Golden Retriever) is the most chilled out dog on the planet.

Missing our lovely holiday and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Cube! After a long trip from the States, Patrick and Dirk went out of their way to greet us when we showed up in the middle of the night, help us get settled into our room, suggest places to visit, and always went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and having an enjoyable time. The guest house is a lovely setting outside the city central with absolutely stunning views and a peaceful ambiance. We started each day with breakfast poolside then would head out to explore Cape Town. Cube is a great location within close distance to many beaches, Cape Town city central and the Cape of Good Hope. The rooms are classy and modern, full of personal touches including fresh flowers each day. We highly recommend Cube Guesthouse and will hopefully be returning in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Where do I start...?! We had the MOST AMAZING stay at the beautiful CUBE guest house and every aspect actually topped any expectations we had! Thanks to the WONDERFUL hosts Patrick & Dirk and their BEAUTIFUL HOME!

Patrick & Dirk have been the best hosts you can wish for! From the lovely warm welcome when we arrived (which made us feel home right away!), to all their super helpful recommendations, the great chats we had - it was a PURE JOY staying with them, and we actually very much miss them :( Not to forget, the fabulous dog Paul or 'Paulchen' who has been so sweet with all the guests and we wished to adopt right away... (well, without success - he's still there .-)

Patrick & Dirk actually MADE our holiday the BEST TRIP we've ever had, gave us lots of tips of where to go, what to see, do and - most importantly .-) - where to eat! And let me tell you, every single thing had been an absolute success which we are still dreaming about (after having been back home now for a few weeks... and dying to go back!).

Hout Bay is a fantastic 'base' to really do anything from - it's all very close with the car, whether you want to go to Cape Town Central (only about 15 mins), Camps Bay, Clifton, Cape Point etc. The STUNNING Chapman's Peak Drive also starts in Hout Bay, which is an absolute must-do!

When we arrived at the CUBE, we were right away blown away by the beautiful setting! You have an amazing view across the mountains and the Atlantic and sunrises / sunsets are a dream. The house, architecture & interiour as well reflects Patrick's & Dirk's fantastic taste and sense for STYLE! Have a look at the pictures and their website and you get a sense: Everything works fantastically well together - the design of the rooms, furniture, decoration - SO TASTEFUL and with so much attention to DETAIL!
For the first 3 nights we stayed in the Cottage, the little pool house, which was a wonderful experience: Very beautifully designed, super comfy and actually quite romantic. And - you could jump into the pool right from the bed, which was fantastic for an early-morning-dip before breakfast.
Then we moved into the Comb View room, which was also wonderful and had a very high level of comfort with air con, even Apple TV (if you are not busy enough doing other stuff - which I can promise you, you will be! .-)) - we even had our own little terrace!

The breakfast was a BRILLIANT start every single morning! We often hung out around the table on the terrace for a couple of hours as it was so delicious, relaxing and just nice to chat and enjoy the morning sun! Patrick & Dirk greeted us every morning with a WONDERFUL breakfast - fresh rolls, croissants, a huuuge delicious selection of HOME-MADE JAMS (actually my boyfriend and me never eat jams, but we couldn't stop on this holiday - that should say enough!), fresh fruit salad with yoghurt, freshly cooked eggs (however you prefer them), fresh orange juice... and a great coffee! What else do you need!

I could go ooooon... and on... I think you get the gist: WE LOVED THE CUBE in every single aspect! And would ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND this LOVELY GEM to everyone! (But don't take our spot away... because we'll definitely be back as soon as we can!)

THANKS SO MUCH AGAIN to Patrick & Dirk!
It was WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in (Cottage and Comb View) were brilliant and an experience for itself! The C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

On our 2 week trip to SA I was most excited about staying at The Cube and we weren't disappointed. The place is beautiful. Amazing design and lovely styling. Beautiful pool area and very spacious room (we stayed in the cosmopolitan suite) with double sinks and open bathroom where you can wee the views from the shower (and loo!).

Patrick and Dirk are wonderful hosts, they have created a friendly, relaxed feel and you feel at home straight away. Breakfasts by the pool were lovely! Homemade peach, passionfruit and mango jams were amazing! They were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and any other info needed.

We didn't want to leave and would absolutely recommend The Cube to anyone visiting the area. Hout Bay is lovely and you're within easy reach of Cape Point, Clifton and Camps Bay, and only about 20 mins drive out of town. A great find! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CUBE Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CUBE Guest House

Address: 20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CUBE Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in an elevated residential area providing breathtaking views onto the mountain range and the sea. Be served with our fresh and home-made breakfast on one of our terraces or enjoy relaxing moments underneath palmtrees next to the heated swimming pool in our large garden area. Our modern and comfortably furnished house provides an open, amicable atmosphere to guarantee an entirely relaxing stay.Surrounded by green hillsides, Hout Bay is nestled in a valley opening out into a picturesque bay and small fishing port. Thanks to the central location, within a few minutes you can reach the city centre, stunning sandy beaches, beautifully situated golf courses as well as the Cape Town’s Wine Region. Furthermore, Hout Bay is the starting point for the famous corniches Chapman’s Peak Drive, which leads you right to the Cape of Good Hope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CUBE Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CUBE Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CUBE Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.