We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza's, but won't hurry back...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Massimo's

Massimo's
Main Rd | Oakhurst Farm Park, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
021 7905648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open Tuesday to Friday for dinner, and Sat & Sun for lunch & dinner.We make amazing pizza plus daily specials, using only the best, mainly locally sourced ingredients, and the owners are always present to ensure quality & consistency. Check us out on google for more information
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great pizza's, but won't hurry back...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Massimo's is well known for it's amazing pizzas, and I have visited many times before, they did not disappoint. They must serve one of the best pizzas in Cape Town. The problem on this occasion that the attitude of their Chef, when my wife decided to order one of the specials of the day, the grilled Swordfish. She does not eat garlic and asked for the fish dish to be served with a side salad, rather than the garlic & citrus pasta. He refused point blank and was completely rude and arrogant about it, snapping back at my wife that he only serves food as it comes on the menu. It was a pity, as he ruined what could have been an incredible meal for everyone on our table. Had he simply been a little more customer friendly, and served what a customer preferred, we all would have left satisfied and content. Unfortunately, this chef took away from what could have been a great Sunday meal. Anyhow, we shall definitely return for the pizza's, but may order them to take away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    29
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very busy, a little wait, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Invited by friends that frequent the place a lot.

Was very busy, and we did book earlier in the day already. So not the most pleasant table. But the place was pumping. Cozy and toastie next to the pizza oven.

Pizza choices were vast, and the product exceptional. We had a lovely waitress, but due to the level of business, think she was a little over whelmed. But her service was friendly and efficient.

Must say that i was disappointing in the boerewors being sold out, but my next choice the pancetta and mushrooms was really nice.

I am a chef, and have worked in a bistro which serves pizza before.

And I believe there is something special there for everyone.

My one and only complaint Mr Massimo is that you dont have a shop in Durbanville! Very far too drive...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a warm friendly pizzeria with a personal story behind it. An impressive selection of pizza on the menu and interesting specials on the board. I liked the mismatched chairs and art. We sat in a private little corner and were left to enjoy our evening. Helpful staff, not too over friendly, which is just what we wanted. The pizzas were great - though a bit burnt around the edges - otherwise I would give it 5 stars. Tiramisu was so delicious I forgot to share it. I went back again for a take away recently and the pizza wasn't burnt on the edges this time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New management just as good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We want to take the opportunity of wishing Massimo and Tracy all the best and may Massimo make a speedy recovery! We have been going to Massimo's since they opened and went last night to support Johan, the new manager. The name may have changed to Amici di Massimo, but nothing else has. The same great selection of new dishes on the ever changing daily menu, great pizza's (best in Cape Town), friendly and attentive staff, warm atmosphere. Our favourite Italian restaurant in Hout Bay and we will continue to eat there regularly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy in my pizza tummy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food! Had sausage starters (3 different kinds), home made which you could taste. Then pizza as if your in Italy. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo's also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Massimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massimo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.