We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland Thai food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cafe

Thai Cafe
15 Main Road, Hout Bay, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bland Thai food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Returning from another busy day around the Cape, we decided to get take away and ended up the Thai Cafe. All the tables were occupied and there as queue to order, which we believed to be a good sign. The chefs were all asians - another good sign. I ordered a salad and pad thai. Both were okay, but bland. The dishes that the others ordered were mediocre and not in any way authentic tasting. The duck was dry and overcooked. The same goes for the satay. The spring rolls had very little filling and the dipping sauce was rubbish. If you have ever eaten anything close to authentic thai food, then stay far away from this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErawanCapeTown, Owner at Thai Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I do not believe this review to be genuine and even if it is then why did the author not bring these issues to our attention? We pride ourselves on our quality Thai food offering and if you see that most of the reviews posted here are in the 4 or 5 category. We serve nearly 4000 meals per month from our busy little store and that must demonstrate that we are doing something right. We also offer a no quibbles refund or exchange policy on the very rare occasions that we have any quality issues... I note that we still managed a 3 star from this reviewer and that was after she advised to avoid perhaps not focused on the the review or the food as she should have been. Good luck with your Thai food tasting elsewhere ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great Takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had done a shark cage dive at 5am and so wanted something tasty and quick for evening meal.

Food was delivered quickly, was of a high standard and was reasonably priced.

Would eat from here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“great thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

just had take aways - but a very good and tasty meal, freshly prepared. Staff very helpful and friendly, parking right outside

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delish Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Thai Cafe is one of the cheaper options in Hout Bay yet the food is still authentic, the service is quick and the portions are filling (I had leftovers). There are quite a few vegetarian options. My favourite is the Thai Chicken Curry with Tofu and veggies instead of meat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love Thai Cafe! It's great value for money and the food is fabulous – better than fancier restaurants elsewhere. You can either order food to take away or eat on one of the wooden benches outside, so it has a bit of a fast-food feel – but it's much, much better than your average fast-food restaurant. One of my favourite places to eat in Hout Bay. Wine and beer is available too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cafe also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.