We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Definately lives up to its name - The King's Place !"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The King's Place
Save
You added The King's Place to your Saves list
Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“"Definately lives up to its name - The King's Place !"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wow ! Where do I start ?What a beautiful place indeed! So tranquil and serene especially the view of the mountain and trees from the patio with the sounds of the birds and horses in the background. The tennis court and swimming pool kept the kids quite busy. Accommodation was fantastic with a fully equiped kitchen(incl. dishwasher and auto maid),spacious lounge , bathrooms and beautiful bedrooms . The staff was great and very helpful indeed. Being situated 20 to 25 minutes drive from any tourist attraction, made it an ideal place for us to explore Cape Town as well. We will most definately use The Kings Place again as our holiday accommodation in CapeTown!

Room Tip: Any room will do ! Trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for a GREAT review! We really enjoyed meeting you all and hope you'll be back very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Secunda, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The apartment at the King's place was great and spacious, truly home away from home,superb service and have everything you'll need when on holiday for self catering,and will definately stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a good stay! Look forward to having you stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The accommodation was of a very high standard and the owners were extremely helpful. It provided a tranquil place to stay which was close to Cape Town but also had plenty to keep us occupied right on the doorstep. We really enjoyed the local trip to see the seals; the Sunday craft market and the Bird and Monkey Sanctuary.
The house was well equipped with many thoughtful extras.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed our local attractions as well as our accommodation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The kings Place was great, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment / house with the extra bunk beds. Everything was just great. Tennis Court, pool, and kids swing, and horses, and fishpond, all kept the kids busy and in the open air.

The unit is very well equipped with full bathrooms and comprehensive kitchen, and and full satellite tv in the lounge.

The host was very helpful and friendly and the daily cleaning service very good and efficient even helped with clothes washing.

Great venue for a weeks family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The King's Place and had a good holiday! Hope to see you all again for another refreshing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked quite late so spent one night in the Pool Room then a further 4 in the Apartment. We must also caveat our comments by saying that we stayed in July so it was Winter. the Pool Room was cold. The Apartment was fine; still a bit cold, as the heater was quite small. However, it was spacious, reasonably well equipped, apart from an ancient fridge,and had lovely views. Kim and Ian were good hosts and their son sorted out the TV for us in an instant. Location was nice and just about the right place for exploring Cape Town and the Cape Region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for the review! We certainly did have a cold and very wet winter which seems to be dragging on. So sorry that you weren't warm enough. We would have gladly given you another heater should you have mentioned it. Thanks for mentioning the fridge in the Apartment as we have replaced it and it looks so much better. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Kings place is an ideal spot to stay if you are visiting Cape Town. Hout Bay is ideally located between Camps Bay and Constantia and it's also only 20 minutes away from the City Bowl. Kirstenbosch gardens and Newlands are also close by.

The rooms are very neat and the kitchen is equipped with all the utensils you need to become the next Jamie Oliver. If you need some assistance, the family and the staff are always there to give you a helping hand.

The view from my room gave me a lovely sight of a great part of the estate.

What I especially liked, was the tranquility of the place. No traffic to disturb you in your sleep.

To summarize, at the Kings place you are in very good hands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Staying at the Kings Place was a wonderful experience. The beautifully equipped and spacious Valley house 1 was tastefully decorated and luxurious. We had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and tennis court.

The location is ideal for a restful holiday, being in a quiet area nestled between the mountains. Yet it is within easy reach of all the great things to do, from the shopping and night life of the city, to swimming with penguins, or just driving around the coast to enjoy the scenery. Not to mention Table mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, The Stellenbosch region etc. etc…

Our family had a thoroughly fantastic time and would like to thank the Kings and the staff there for making us so welcome in their accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at THE KING'S PLACE and in beautiful Cape Town! Hope you'll be back soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Place

Address: Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Place is a small holding set on 8 acres of prime agricultural land in the lush seaside valley of Hout Bay, Cape Town. We are surrounded by magnificent gardens with views of the back of Table Mountain, the Constantiaberg and the renowned Chapman's Peak. We have 5 self-catering units: 2 one bedroom cottages, 2 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 5 bedroom and an 8 bedroom house. It is the perfect venue for a couple, a family reunion, a small conference or business group or a family getaway. All accommodation at The King's Place is self-catering. It is a luxurious country experience enhanced by carefully selected furnishings and fabrics. Each place has its own entrance and private BBQ area. There are 2 large swimming pools and for the energetic, there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The King's Place Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.