We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average guest place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Serein Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cap Serein Guest House to your Saves list
Cap Serein Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Saddlers Row, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average guest place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the double room. There was only one bedside lamp and the Wi-Fi in the public areas worked very badly. We tried to connect on 2 mobile phones a laptop and a tablet but the signal was very weak and we had difficulty connecting. There is a possibility to have a meal there. The meal was very good but cost more than in the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We are Cape Town locals and have frequented a number of hotels and bed and breakfasts. I can say with certainty that Cap Serein was impeccable. The small size allows for privacy, which cluttered B&B cannot offer, and they go the extra mile. A friendly face and welcome any time of the day or night you arrive (they accommodate you). The cottages are superb and well stocked with wine, beer, sodas, mineral water, tea and coffee. Your own private veranda where you cannot hear the other guests. A marvelous breakfast with a delight of fresh baked German scones served by a caring hostess.

We had the great fortune of booking 2 nights before and after our wedding day. Petra was so calm, she welcomed each new arrival be it florist, photographer or family member and showed them to our cottage. She made sure there were extra teacups and drinks for all the ladies and made sure the new guest if male could come in and if everyone was dressed. She was an Angel. So calm and reassuring.

I really wished we could have stayed longer. We opted for staying at Cap Serein rather than our wedding venue and it was the best choice ever. I can't wait to go back and try their restaurant. Note they provide bookings for you if you'd like to eat somewhere else and help with tour information and transfers. Their close location to world of birds and the harbour will also mean you get to experience the beautiful side of Houtbay while dining on the best seafood Cape Town can offer.

If you need to choose a place this is it.

Room Tip: Choose Marseiles if you need a separate dining or entertaining room. But all the cottages are marvel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in Feb and was very happy as we had reservations about visiting SA. Cap serein is very secure and although certain parts in Cape town are avoided, the area where they are seems very calm, quiet and safe.
Petra is a wonderful host with no problems with any amount of questions asked.
Kurt is a great chef and the food was excellent either for breakfast or dinner.
The accommodation was well designed, clean with great fittings and a very homely feel.
You certainly need a car when staying here and no shops / restaurants are walking distance.
All in all this is a very good place to base yourself for a cape town visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Cap Serein is a wonderful serene place in Hout Bay! We loved our stay there. The accomodation was very cosy and the Schramm's set everything up for our little son (cottage was provided with extra covers). For any questions we had, the Schramm's were more than willing to help us.
I can hands down recommend Cap Serein for a stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cap Serein for nearly three weeks (we had intended on staying for only 10 days but extended due to the VERY positive experience we had). The accommodation was immaculately clean and very homely, we stayed in the private cottage "Marseille" which we found excellent. It is also very private with its own garden. There is a large kingsize bedroom, double shower en suite and a very spacious living area, nothing about the accommodation can be faulted. We started each day with a healthy and filling breakfast which kept us going until lunch, there was also the option of dinner which we did twice and the food was nothing but outstanding and reasonably priced for the quality that you get! We were made feel so welcome by the owners Petra and Kurt and we really felt that they cared about our stay. They were very approachable and always had time for a chat and most importantly a joke. In addition, Petra was super when it came to helping organise trips (winelands and Robben Island). I would highly recommend Cap Serein to anyone who wants to somewhere really relax, I have been thinking about areas for improvement and I can honestly say there are none that come to mind. If you are reading this and would like to verify this recommendation please feel free to contact me on dublinciaranmc@gmail.com.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This location is just South of Cape Town and North of Cape Point. It is the perfect distance from both and not in the busy city center. We spent our evenings enjoying dinner at various restaurants off the Cape and Ocean. The views were amazing. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and assisted me with daily plans and some must see sites. I lost my iPad on the plane in Germany, which had our itenery, and they (our hosts) went out of their way to assist with building a new one and recommending things to do throughout our trip. They made us feel at home! What more can you ask for? Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Side note, do to many of the stories and comments on hotels and locations about auto thefts, I was particular about booking a gated and secure parking location. This location is fully gated. I never had a concern for safety while there. That was exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful place!!! Easy access to all the "must visit" areas near and around CT without having to face the City highways in peak traffic!!!!Thank you for your hospitality! Your spotless Guest House beats any 5-Star Hotel!! Once again a sincere thank you!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Serein Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Serein Guest House

Address: 17 Saddlers Row, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cap Serein Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on the mountain slopes overlooking the fishing port of Hout Bay, the only noise you’ll encounter here is chirping birds and the occasional splash from the koi ponds. Recently restored in the style of Provence, Cap Serein is about peace, quiet and exceptional cuisine. Each spacious suite and cottage at Cap Serein comes with a Satellite TV, tea/coffee facilities and a private patio. They either overlook the Atlantic, the mountains or the guest house’s gardens. Expect superb breakfasts in our sunroom, with cooked fare and a selection of home-baked pastries. You can also see Kurt’s dinner menu and decide if you’d like to stay in for the evening. We have options for everyone; ranging from three-course meals to a simple snack to end the day. After a dip in the pool, guest can relax on the sun terrace or enjoy a night in our jacuzzi.The shady garden is full of nooks and crannies, with plenty of corners where you can lose yourself in a good book or simply relax under Cape Town's sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cap Serein Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Serein Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Serein Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.