We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is ok, but not more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant

Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant
Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 7901036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is a local institution, renowned worldwide for the best Calamari in Cape Town, with a popular sun-drenched terrace overlooking the bay and mountains. Calamari at the Chapmans Peak was voted as "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town".It’s the ideal location for those lingering sunsets and balmy evenings. A sun-drenched verandah boasting spectacular views of the bay offers an alternative eating venue for those wishing to dine Al fresco. And in those winter months, it’s one of few places in the Cape with fireplaces (dating back 100yrs)
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food is ok, but not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a dinner at the restaurant with family. The Calamary were very good yet the african plate with all kinds of wild animal (ostrich, Kudu,...) was swimming in smoke flavour sauce and we were quite dissapointed. Also, we ordered the meat medium and we got one of the pieces almost completely raw. It was not easy to get a hold of the waiter, but when we did he tried hard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    129
    45
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Calamari & Prawn Pan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great food, you really should try their Calamari and Prawn Pan, the calamari was excellent and tender beyond words. We have a great waitress who was such fun. Sit out-site and and although on a road, you are slightly elevated giving great views over Hout Bay. There is easy parking either immediately outside or across the road. You do have to dodge the Hawkers selling beaded trinkets!

Take the opportunity to check out the hotel reception area, there are some wonderful pictures of the Hotel taken in 1913 with the first motorised taxis!

We had a fantastic long lunch with friends here and would recommend it as a great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Calamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

You must try the Calamari!! Everyone goes on about it and now we know why!!! We have never tasted calamari as tender and succulent. Do not have starters tho', we can promise that you do not need them!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The poor service continues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to Chappies restaurant on many occasions and they do have the best calamari and it is a nice location, although Dunes Restaurant has better views of Chapmans Peak, the beach, harbor and all the way to Kommetjie. However, I now just had enough of the constantly poor, slow and unfriendly service of the staff. Once in a while you get a newly employed waiter that is trying his best, but they ultimately don't last long there. Really, have they become so arrogant because of their popularity (mostly because of location) that good, even acceptable service is not required anymore. Luckily there are many choices in Hout Bay and I will not soon go back JUST because of their unfriendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not quite what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been visitng this restaurant for at least 10 years - a few times every year - what a disappointment this visit was - the calamari was fine - probably the same as always - the service was atrocious - surly , unfriendly - and when I commented re this aspect of the meal was met a a disdainful OH, no apology, no ackowledgemet - atrocious really - hopefully it was a one off slip,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapmans Peak Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.