We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Hout Bay Heights

Save Saved
You added Villa Hout Bay Heights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Hout Bay Heights
35 Penzance Ave, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 56 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family was really welcomed by Mr. Adrian during our stay in Villa Hout Bay Heights. He did everything to make us feel like home. We were in 3 adults and a 1 year old baby. From the breakfast in the garden to the structure of our room, everything was just perfect. I certainly would come back with my family.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at Villa Heights for 10 nights and were made perfctly welcome. The B&B has been under new management since the end of last year, but apart from a few hiccups everything was running smoothly. Breakfast was delicious,and well cooked by both female and male staff (yes, you Mimmo!) and we were made to feel at home.
The only downside was the steep drive up to the top of the hill. Just don't get a rental car that's too big. The reward is a wonderful view across the bay or hills, depending on your room.
Our room was just as pictured.
Alarm system going off in the night was annoying, but due to other guests not using key system correctly. Explanation was a little confusing at first. If you're not sure, then as to test it before you leave in the evening.

Room Tip: Ground floor all good. Deluxe even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

comfortable, pleasant, friendly staff. bernard really helpful. good location. great home cooked breakfasts.

Room Tip: ground floor sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good location to explore Hout Bay, Cape Town and the surrounding area. Nice accomodation and excellent breakfasts. we stayed a week, went travelling and returned for our last night. Bernard and his staff made us most welcome. Bernard took the time to assist us in booking game parks and advising us on where best to go. We would like to go back again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs deluxe room which was excellent with great views. Don't know what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Hout Bay heights. The room was on the ground floor with views of the mountains. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was like home from home - all that we expected to be offered. NIce quiet location and views are even better from the higher floor rooms. We were vey tired after a long flight and actually wanted to watch the TV so that was our only disappointment as there were just the S.A channels (5) available and only 2 channels gave a clear picture. Sky TV would be so much better offering World and UK news channels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We've been staying at the villa for 4 night and enjoyed it very much. As it is at the highest point of houtbay you have a wonderful view over the bay and mountains. The staff is very friendly and service minded. The rooms are beautiful! It's very easy to go to the Cape, Camps bay and Capetown!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed here with my 9 year old daughter and have to say we were made to feel very welcome and valued. Nothing was too much trouble for Richard (the manager) and Charity (the housekeeper). We arrived in Cape Town late but we still received a warm welcome. It was fabulous to wake up to the view of the mountains and the table laid for breakfast.
While we were there everything was just perfect - the room was tidied and cleaned every day, the bed was comfortable and the property itself is very very safe, clean, homely and convenient.
The self catering facilities are great - there is a living area and kitchen downstairs which we used every day and even spent an evening sat by a huge log fire watching TV, the hospitality is excellent and Charity is a little gem - everyone there even Armarni the dog are so friendly and helpful. I would most definately stay here again if I was going back to Hout Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Hout Bay Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hout Bay Heights

Address: 35 Penzance Ave, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Hout Bay Heights, a Four Star Luxury Guest House, is magnificently positioned high up on the Mountainside, offering Panoramic Views of the Mountains, Sea and Valley. Situated in the picturesque sea-side town of Hout Bay, our Mediterranean style villa is a mere 20 minutes from Cape Town city center and is central to numerous tourist destinations, such as, the Constantia Wine Route, Table Mountain, the Waterfront, the World of Birds and Chapman's Peak Drive . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Hout Bay Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hout Bay Heights Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Hout Bay Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.