We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tintswalo Atlantic to your Saves list
Tintswalo Atlantic
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Relaxed luxury! What an incredible stay! The location is dramatic and breathtaking, the food scrumptiously faultless, the staff warm, accommodating and professional. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    5
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
128
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Thank you Top Billing for airing this amazing place years ago. I have been there numerous times and each time It still takes my breath away. i have travelled all our the world and in Africa.
I am now happy to say that I found the perfect destination...
The perfect view, suites, staff and surroundings. Love the fact that it is so private and for guest only! Then it is 20 minutes from airport and on one of the most beautifull drives in the world!!!
Loads of places to visit around if one must... Melissa and staff are amazing!!!!

Room Tip: Go at least once a month so you can try all the suites! We also loved the Presidential Suite and wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This has to be one of the most spectacular locations for a hotel in the world. The staff were superb, and accommodated and anticipated all our needs.

The food was really good quality and the wine list had interesting choices.

It's a good venue for a romantic, get away from it all, stay on the property getaway. Not the most convenient base for exploring Cape Town, and the only other real quality restaurant nearby is Kitima in Hout Bay.

There is a beach at your feet, and you can't swim in the water which is a pity.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Tintswalo Atlantic a few weeks ago, I am still going on and on about our time there with everyone I meet. The property is not only incredibly beautiful but the feeling of love and true heart-felt care given by the staff really made it for us. We were given enough attention to feel like a king and queen, but enough privacy to rekindle something totally special between the two of us. Thank You guys, our time with you was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at this hotel which has an absolutely stunning location on the water's edge below Chapman's Peak Drive! The room was gorgeous - beautifully decorated and with a full range of amenities! However the chairs on the veranda were extremely uncomfortable - they don't lean back and you find yourself sliding out of them!

There are also a couple of service glitches which detract from the overall experience. We had to wait for over 20 minutes for our luggage to be delivered to our room and when we tried to call to enquire, we discovered that our room did not have a telephone. My husband called the hotel on his cell phone and was told the phone was mounted on the headboard. The receptionist sent the butler who arrived without our luggage and also couldn't explain where the phone was. The Deputy General Manager who had shown us to our room eventually arrived with the butler (and our luggage) and told us that the hotel's phone system was out of order, hence the absence of the phone in the room! He had forgotten to mention this and clearly the other staff were unaware of this. The wifi was also out of order.

While the dinner was excellent, we had to wait some time before the appetizers were served. We had been told to arrive at sunset, but it appeared that the appetizers were only heated up once we arrived. Breakfast was very disappointing! We were offered tea/coffee, juice, home made muesli, a cheese platter, a salmon platter or eggs. Nothing was laid out for self service - fruit, pastries etc. We opted not to have the cereal or platters and ordered Eggs Benedict. We waited a considerable amount of time for it to arrive. The eggs and croissant were fine but the Hollandaise sauce was horrible - congealed butter with a lemon flavor. We were not offered any toast to eat with the jams that were on the table.

The rates at this hotel place it at the luxury end of the spectrum, but these service issues and the breakfast detract from the whole experience. I did provide feedback on the form provided but we have not been contacted by the hotel subsequent to our stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Again we did not stay here, but had dinner with friends who were staying there. fabulous views; excellent food. On the subject of restuarants what we would recommend highly is to just take a bottle of the finest wine, and some local blue cheese and olives, and go hang out in the forest? Rather go on an night adventure in the mountains or on the beach. That is what Cape Town does best. This is very weather dependent certainly and the city's weather is somewhat unpredictable.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our recent stay at Tintswalo Atlantic was exceptional. Ryno and Melissa head a very special team who instantly make you feel like part of the family. Nothing is too much effort and their attention to detail is a rare find these days. The quality of the food is outstanding and I would highly recommend a few nights here if you wish to be treated like royalty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A exclusive boutique lodge on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, within the Cape Mountain reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintswalo Atlantic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.