We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, Wonderful hosts and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo to your Saves list
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SPECIAL 2015
Ranked #15 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Excellent stay, Wonderful hosts and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at the Thandekayo guest house for a week during a photography course with Martin. Great experience. Lovely people - Martin and Anita and their kids. The staff - Banda and Janet were very helpful. People say the customer service in Cape Town is not really good. I must say, these people are the best. I was sad when I had to leave but I'm definitely going back there soon :). Already recommending it to everyone I know who wants to visit SA.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Agapanthus room. The view of the mountain and the sea from the balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Booking accommodation via the Internet always feels a little risky but this 6 bedroom guest house close to Cape Town city is a gem of a place to stay. The owners run an art gallery in Cape Town and their renovation of Thandekayo reflects their very great talent for modern, yet comfortable, easy-on-the-eye design. A very warm and helpful welcome never wained; the staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful. The pleasant bedroom had a small veranda with a fabulous view over the Bay, and the guest lounge was comfy, light and airy. The full breakfast service was excellent. If we ever visit Cape Town again we will certainly look to staying at this nearby Hout Bay hidden gem.

Room Tip: We booked a bit late and were allocated the twin-room AGAPANTHUS which was nice enough but we prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and next time, should you return, I suggest you book the Arum Lily room which is a much larger double room with equally beautiful view as the Agapanthus loft room which you stayed in. We wish you a very prosperous new year and look forward to a revisit in the not so distant future.

Best wishes

All at Thandekayo Art Gallery Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plougonvelin, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay in your Lodge was very nice, the owners and all the staff were very friendly. The accommodations were very well appointed and very well decorated. The view was lovely. We spent a very nice day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it a lot. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

All at Thandekayo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely recommend Thandekayo Guest House as a welcome retreat and great base to deplore Cape Town and the surrounding area. Martin and Anita are great hosts (check out Martin's amazing photography, examples of which are in the house) and Banda and Janet look after you very well, and serve a great breakfast. Rooms are light airy and modern in design. Very clean. We managed to stay in three of the rooms as we extended our booking and could recommend any of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Phillipa,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Thandekayo and trust that you will be back in very near future.

Best wishes
Martin and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schriesheim, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, too short.
Wonderful guesthouse, super staff, excellent breakfast and view from the "living room".
Thank you again
Visit in Martin's Gallery in the Waterkant Street is absolute necessary

Room Tip: "Strelizia room" is my favourite, Exit to the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Christine and Gerhard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Guest House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and yes you are right, two days is never enough. We really hope to see you back at Thandekayo for a longer stay soon.

Best wishes Martin and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We enjoy staying in your guesthouse. House tastefully decorated, featuring beautiful pictures of artists including Martin (go and visit his Gallery in Cape Quarter).
Spacious room, good breakfast, attentive staff; Large lounge where guests gather
Nice place, quiet rest near the sea and close to Cape Town. Thanks for your availability.
Très jolie maison, décorée avec soin et goût, un plus : les photos dont cellse du propriétaire Martin. Famille présente et disponible, à l'écoute de ses hôtes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Guesthouse. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you back soon. Kind regard from all at Thandekayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend and it was a great base of operations for my time in Cape Town. The view from their breakfast area is amazing. If you're looking for a nice guest house outside of the downtown area in lovely Hout Bay, I really recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of their rooms have a balcony/porch, try to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Guest House. The two rooms with a balcony are Arum Lily (Double room) and Agapanthus (Twin bed loft room). We really hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.