We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banda is brill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Save Saved
You added Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 56 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Banda is brill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner and I chose Thandekayo at the last minute, after we'd found some accommodation elsewhere was somewhat less good than promised. We called up and asked if they could fit us in - it turned out they could, but we'd have to switch rooms during the stay due to pre-existing bookings.

The owner, Anita suggested that as we were already close by that we came and checked out the accommodation they had available, to make sure we would be happy with what was on offer at Thandekayo.

We were warmly greeted by their live-in house manager, Banda, who comes from Malawi, and were very happy with what we saw - we decided then and there to move our stuff in from the car!

It was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The shared lounge area has a fantastic view over the valley, and covered in Martin's fantastic photography, it's the backdrop to your freshly prepared breakfast served by Banda and his wife Janet in the morning, or when unwinding with a drink later in the day.

Even getting a bit of laundry done was no problem. Banda just got it sorted, and looked after whatever we needed.

A very relaxing and pleasant experience indeed...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. You are so right, Banda is a very special person who just loves what he does. We are so grateful to have him and his wife Janet with us at Thandekayo. We hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wirral merseyside united kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

the first and one of the best guest houses we stayed in on our recent visit to south africa and garden route drive rated as four star our rating would be five.We arrived very late evening and were welcomed with open arms and every need catered for...the attentiveness of staff was really good and the breakfast excellent and what can i say about the view from balcony/terrace it was amazing.Hout bay is also well placed to visit any of the many attractions in the cape town area.I would recommend this guest house to any traveller

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I booked for two nights to stay at Thandekayo over the course of our wedding in Feb this year. One night before for myself with my bridesmaid so I could prep for the wedding, and then also for the night of the wedding as a newly married couple.

The peace and calm that Thandekayo exudes along with Martin's gorgeous photos was just what the doctor ordered for a particularly hectic trip to Cape Town and gave me the tranquility I needed to prep. Banda's wide smile was a welcome tonic as well for both myself and my husband upon check in, and Anita's patience with a stressed bride was incredible.

The staff are amazing, service is professional and the venue / setting is just stunning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thandekayo was one of "five" Four Star guest houses that we stayed at during our recent visit to South Africa. We travelled the Garden route to Cape Town and then back to Mpumalanga (Hazyview). I would say that out of the five guest houses we stayed at, this one was the least deserving of 4 Stars.
Although it was clean and the staff were very attentive the service was slow (breakfast was painfull). The room wasn't bad but not to 4 Star standard, we had Arum Lily room and the bed was a double, but only with a 4 or 5 inch thick simple foam mattress on a solid wood base! (Very hard!).
Can't believe a mattress and bed like this is up to 4 Star accreditation?
We did complain and the owner offered to try to find us alternative accommodation (strange). We declined and put up and shut up.
The building was very "tired" with wooden window and door frames in need of replacement / renovation. The pool was not clean, in comparison the owners pool,right next door was spotless!
Conclusion: 2-3 Star establishment at 4 Star prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thandekayo, Owner at Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guesthouse. We are disappointed that you did not have a favorable experience and would like to take this opportunity to address your concerns.

Firstly at Thandekayo we serve a cooked breakfast to order off an extensive menu, for this reason we attempt to stagger the breakfast times to take pressure off the kitchen. From time to time it happens that all rooms come to breakfast at once which will slow down service. This is what happened during your stay and we assure you that this is not normally the case.

With regards to the bed, this is the first complaint we have had thus far. The mattress had passed inspection, but we will recheck with our grading officer and replace it if deemed necessary.

The reason why we offered you alternative accommodation is simply because we were fully booked at the time and could not change rooms as per your request.

The guesthouse is under constant maintenance and in fact the front facade of the room you are referring to was re-done just a few days after you left. We have two sets of windows that are being complete replaced this winter when we can close for four weeks to do so.

We do our best to keep both pools on the property clean, unfortunately this time of the year we get spells of high winds which blows dust and dirt into the pools. The guest house pool is most affected by this, but within a day or two our gardener manages to get the pool back to normal.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to post your concerns and assure you that we take our business very seriously and will double check all the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Back to Cape Town our old home, and always enjoy returning to Hout Bay. This was our first stay at Thandekayo, and hopefully not our last. The guesthouse is well situated to explore the many delights of Hout Bay and Cape Town, and is situated in a nice quiet street. The views from the balconies are wonderful, and the swimming pool is a well sheltered and private refuge on a hot day. Best of all are the owners and staff of Thandekayo...Martin and Anita were most welcoming and helpful, and always accommodating to our requests. Banda and Janet are a delightful couple, always smiling, always helpful, and in such a short space of time really touched our hearts and made our holiday extra special. We would recommend a stay at Thandekayo without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Thandekayo felt like home away from home. Perfect place from which you can discover Cape Town and other places. It's a beautiful drive to Cape of Good Hope via Chapman's peak. Try Luigi's (Italian food) and Kitima (Asian food) in Hout Bay. Like sushi? Try Ocean Basket, excellent salmon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our very first visit to Cape Town and Thandekayo and it will not be the last. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel so welcome by the owners Martin and Anita, our room Aloe was perfect for our long stay at the bay. The staff Banda and Janet had a constant smile on there faces and nothing was to much trouble for them. The guest house has a lovely pool to relax by and an honesty bar - hence to say you dont have to move far if you are feeling lazy. The rooms were serviced daily and the guest house its self was spotless.
Both Martin and Anita were constantly on hand to offer help and advise in where to go and how to get there. Breakfast was superb with a great choice and it certainly set you up for the day ahead.
All in all the perfect place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town - we loved it

Room Tip: Just look on the web site -all rooms were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.