We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dreamhouse to your Saves list
Dreamhouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“so disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Overpriced. The most expensive stay during our 3 weeks trip in SA and not the best at all. Far from CT and Hout Bay. Had to park in the street. Got a so-called "secluded herb garden" but was asked to let the light at night for other customers... The room was tiny and dark. Kingbed consist in 2 single bed jointed by a sheet. No light in the shower. No ocean view. Asked for a better room : extra charge 400 R/pn. Too expensive. Very disapointing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
81
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and good attention to detail. Staff very helpful and informative. Our room had the bathroom as part of it which was a bit different and the view from the bath was spectacular! The gardens below the house were lovely and the caged birds added some interest. Being set high up above Hout Bay gives the most wonderful views. Need a car to get into town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very cozy and friendly atmosphere, great staff and awesome Cape Town insider information of places to go! Lovely arranged garden with several small relaxing areas. Nice pools and a great terrace with a spectacular bay view where a wonderful breakfast is being served. We are already looking forward to coming back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubiere, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Dreahouse 2 nights in August. We really enjoyed the place: very warm welcome from Anne, great room with splendid view, excellent breakfast. Rooms are very clean, fully equipped, and confortable. Anne was very helpful and careful, and gave us a lot of advice for our visits. Moreover, Hout Bay is close to cape town (about 20 mn fom table mountain car park). We will surely comme back in case of a new trip to cape town.

Room Tip: Bedrooms located upstairs really have a splendid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved our stay. The friendly service from our hostess made our holiday one of our most memorable stays in the Cape. The tranquil garden and beautiful views of Hout Bay was a perfect setting to relax after a fun filled day full of activities in and around this beautiful city. Close to everything "Cape town" and far away not to be part of the city buzz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a great week there with a child. We got a friendly welcome upon arrival, and we couldn't believe our eyes as the view over Hout Bay from the terrace of our room was breathtaking! This was confirmed the next morning as we understood that we would have the same view for breakfast, from the restaurant. And the breakfast itself was excellent and enough to feed us for a day. The room was comfy and it was a very good bargain for the price we paid. All in all it was by far the best accommodation we got in South Africa during our 2 weeks there, and it's definitely an accommodation to consider to explore Cape Town and the surroundings (including the Cape of Good Hope, Simon's Town and others). I should also conclude by the fact that all in all service was excellent (thanks Anna and Iwanka!) and all our requests were attended to with no delay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although we received a warm welcome upon arrival and a fantastic breakfast in the morning, we once again realised that few guesthouse owners sleep in their own rooms, especially during the hot and cold seasons.

Upon our arrival we were met by an unfortunate plumbing job which resulted in lack of water, and maintenance work continuing till almost midnight. We were offered alternative accommodation upon arrival, but only if we had a problem with the noise of the workers which was due to cease at 16:30. We opted to stay since we were touring all day anyway. We did advise the guesthouse to ensure that the water was working upon our return, but this did not happen. The owner was very sympathetic and considerate, but the effects remain.

In addition, we feel the following aspects require attention to make it a better stay at the Dreamhouse:
1. Parking is horrendous. The steep and narrow one-way driveway and limited parking is challenging to say the least, especailly when having to reverse and pull away at such a steep gradient when the surface is wet. This forces one to park in the street, which is monitored by a security guard.
2. WIFI hardly works. It keeps cutting out and when available offers almost one bar of signal strength.
3. The TV is useless. No satelite TV and the local channels are all snowy. So no access to local or international news and weather.
4. Although it is winter, there are still summer cotton sheets on the bed. The electric blanket helps, but the pillows are still freezing!
5. The room is freezing! There is a small asbestos heater, but far too inadeqate. There are also no warm blankets except for a sub-standard single duvet (with no cover).
6. There is only "plastic" coffee in the room. No filter coffee / plunger.
7. There is no vanity area for women (table with mirror to do make-up and hair)
8. The towels are thin and rough.
We still think it's time that guesthouse owners slept in their own rooms.

Room Tip: Ask the guesthouse owner if they have slept in their own rooms - summer and winter - and if they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreamhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse

Address: 53 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreamhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dreamhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.