We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best meal I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
La Rochelle Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 (0)21 876 2717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly the best meal I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The 3 of us loved everything put in front of us. The presentation was excellent and I would recommend choosing the "bit of everything" for both starter and sweet. I would not go as far to say that the main course was the best ever, but it was excellent and the overall dining experience, at a very reasonable price, was unforgettable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    135
    63
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top class celebratory meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday and had a really great evening at Le Bon Vivant. The meal was excellent as was the service. We were given advice on the menu and were all very happy with the different choices we made. We were not hurried to leave, even though we were the last table in the restaurant. I certainly recommend this restaurant for a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Every plate a picture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fine dining at a reasonable price in the recently restyled restaurant is a real pleasure. Pierre and his team take a special pride in their presentation besides producing some of the best dishes in Franschhoek.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Tucked away in a side street we 'had' to go there as our favourite "Reuben's' was fully booked. And what a pleasant surprise it was. The service was markedly unhurried- but this was made up my the delish food we received. The presentation was excellent, too! This wee place deserves more attention indeed! We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining - A Culinary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had our best dining experience at this restaurant while spending two weeks touring in South Africa.
The choice on the menu was extensive, the quality of the food excellent and the staff attentive and informative. As part of the meal we choose the taster dessert heavenly, not to be missed!! The cost was far from prohibitive.
The only downside was that we could only eat there once while staying in Franschhoek!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bon Vivant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.