We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
La Rochelle Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 (0)21 876 2717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Annual visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great experience and food. Bit 'snug' in the seating area.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    135
    63
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Impressive - French style in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We ate at Le Bon Vivant on the recommendation of Russell at Ashbourne House in Franschhoek. It certainly proved to be a fine dining experience. The food and wine were excellent. The big surprise was the desert. The last option was the enigmatic 'all the above', and it proved to be just that - al the deserts elegantly presented on a large platter. The two of us just about managed to finish one!
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just as Excellent as Last Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Once again, our visit to Bon Vivant was the culinary highlight of our stay in Franschhoek, if not South Africa. This time we brought another couple along, who were as impressed as we were. The standard of the food is very high, presentation is an absolute treat - it is a sensory delight from start to finish. We cannot find anything to fault, except perhaps that Pierre did not have time to make the rounds of the tables this time, as he did last time we were there. Compliments and high praise!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lucky table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our table was on the stoop on a hot and humid evening. This turned out to have been a good choice,as the heavens opened just as we were leaving - not sure what those seated outside did !

The food was excellent, though one of the three crab-salad starters smelled a bit high ( no ill effects though ) Presentation was wonderful and all fairly priced.

Service could have been a little sharper, but we were in no rush. All in all, a first-class experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Nouvelle Cuisine?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Le Bon Vivant is near to the top of the heap for dining in Franschhoek at present so it has to be judged against very high standards.
Our grown up family of six were assigned a table for dinner right next to the window that affords a fascinating view of the chefs at work in the kitchen. The owner / chef, Pierre Hendriks was in charge that evening and, if you ever doubted that running a restaurant was tough work then, believe me, it is!
We had a really enjoyable dining experience with excellent service and tasty main courses. The presentation style reminded me very much of Nouvelle Cuisine that was so fashionable in the UK about 20 years ago. The starters and desserts looked so picture perfect that my son got out his iPhone and photographed the dishes! My only gripe is that the starters and desserts were rather tasteless. They had clearly been pre-prepared but perhaps they had sat too long in the kitchen.
In any case, we enjoyed the overall dining experience and would certainly be happy to recommend Le Bon Vivant (reservations essential).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bon Vivant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.