We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agincourt Country Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agincourt Country Guest House
Save
You added Agincourt Country Guest House to your Saves list
Patrysfontein Road | PO Box 291, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Firstly I would echo one of the earlier reviews on two points. The room that we stayed in was very large and a little sparsely furnished which did make it feel rather empty. Secondly, there are 5 dogs in residence and inevitably they make their presence felt, which is not to everyone's liking.
The guesthouse itself is comfortable and conveniently located for Franschhoek - it is walkable but it was recommended to us that we drive as the approach road is rough and unlit.
The best thing about the guesthouse are the hosts, John and Sheila, who were unflinchingly helpful during our stay organising transport into town and a driver for our wine tasting expedition so that we could all participate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our stay in Agincourt was very enjoyable thanks to the helpfullness and kindness of our hosts. The rooms were very lovely. Additionnally the breakfast was delicious.
We definitely recommend Agincourt for those who are visiting Fransschoek!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a lovely country property with John and Sheila being most helpful guides.
John organised a driver 'Eddie' who has a fast Mercedes, to take us around some vineyards that he recommended. I wish that we had done this for two days running as there is so much wine to taste and a fantastic motor museum to see.
You can walk into town in daylight, and its a short taxi ride back.
Personally, I love to hear the country sounds of bullfrogs calling in the night and the cockerel crowing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molenhoek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A great stay with Shelia and John who are the perfect host at Agincourt. A big light guest house with big bedrooms with fantastic views. Although one km outside the city this was for us a advantage because we were in nature and still just a few minutes from the city. A great breakfast and Shelia or John know everything about Franschhoek and will book a restaurant in a minute Zero the large dog with his George Clooney eyes was a bonus because we missed ou two labs in Holland.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Large converted house close to the centre of town, although best to drive as it's at the end of quite a long, unlit dirt road. With a car however, this is not a problem at all and actually quite charming. John and Sheila are lovely hosts and very knowledgable about the area. The dogs play a large part in the family which is a pleasure for us but not necessarily for everyone. The house is huge and as a result, feels somewhat cavernous and a little bit cold. It was unseasonably cool when we were there. With such a large space available, one would think that you could have breakfast at your leisure but as J&S run the place entirely by themselves, the sittings need to be staggered which, if like us you like to holiday with no schedules, is not ideal. Breakfast was delicious though with the usual items available, but their hand reared, organic eggs are fantastic! Rooms are very large and although redone, I felt that things could be moved up a notch or two. Water pressure in our shower was insufficient and bathroom amenities can definitely be upgraded. J&S really make this place though and they are very accommodating and helpful, there just needs to be a little more attention paid to the details and perhaps some morning help with the breakfast service to enable everyone to be sat at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We arrived a little late and were depending on the car GPS. Apparently there is a glitch in the database which had us coming to Agincourt from another direction. After a call everything was sorted and we were greeted by John and Sheila. The rooms were lovely and the location was pleasant being outside of town and away from any noise. We had a wonderful stay and our guests couldn’t have been more helpful. We would recommend the Agincourt to any one that wants a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

John and Sheila are lovely hosts, always very helpful and know how to prepare a great breakfast. Rooms are big and nicely furnished. Located out of town (10-15 minutes by foot) Agincourt allows to relax in a peaceful atmosphere and to enjoy the offerings of the Franschhoek area...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agincourt Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agincourt Country Guest House

Address: Patrysfontein Road | PO Box 291, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agincourt is a large, gracious, Cape Vernacular style farmhouse, situated in the beautiful Franschhoek Valley. Standing in its own grounds of 1 1/2 acres, surrounded by vineyards, and with breathtaking views of the valleys and mountains. Agincourt is the ideal country retreat. The centre of Franschhoek is only two minutes away, with its award winning, world renowned restaurants, wineries, and shops. Come, relax and enjoy the world at a different pace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agincourt Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.