We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack & Jude "Simply the Best!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashbourne House Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashbourne House Guest House to your Saves list
Ashbourne House Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   47 Huguenot Street | P.O. Box 31, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Late availability R750pps
Ranked #8 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jack & Jude "Simply the Best!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Mine hosts, Russell and John, maintain a warm welcome and are extremely helpful. This was our second stay within 2 years and we were not disappointed. The rooms, food and location are fantastic. We would not stay anywhere else when visiting Franschhoek. Looking forward to another visit, but only if we can stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
186
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Russel and John are the perfect hosts of this delightfully appointed guest house. The room and bathrooms were very comfortable and modern yet stylish. The lounge room was definitely a place to sit and enjoy, with lots of lovely books and magazines to peruse. Breakfast was a delight. The location was on a few walking minutes from the fine restaurants of Hermanus town which Russel and John were magically able to secure places for us, despite us being there at the busiest time of the year. All in all this was by far the best guest house we stayed in over our 2 week Cape trip and will definitely re-book next time we are in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our second stay (in four years) at Ashbourne House. We were very impressed the first time around and had a another great stay this time!

We had a deluxe room by the pool which affords a bit more privacy. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. Our only minor negative comments would be the obsolete television and the weak Wi-Fi signal from the room.

Our hosts were absolutely amazing and extremely helpful. They facilitated our restaurant bookings - they provided options, I chose and they booked them all in advance. We were there over Christmas so I was concerned about availability. Breakfasts were very good; hours were a bit later than we would normally eat but we didn't have any early starts for other outings so it was of no consequence. They also gave us champagne and chocolates for Christmas. A wonderful and thoughtful touch!

The location (in town) is very good - easy walking distance to excellent restaurants. Would we stay again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

John and Russell are superb hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. The location of the guest house is just a very short walk from the majority of Franschhoeks' restaurants.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked via the tourist office in Franschoek for two nights - we loved it so much that we wanted to extend our stay: unfortunately Ashbourne was fully booked!
The guest rooms are beautiful and well appointed; there is also a delightful sitting room. Everywhere is exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. Russell and John make you feel "at home"; breakfast is a real treat with freshly made breads and preserves. We highly recommend Ashbourne House.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We enjoyed 3 days of sheer pleasure at Ashbourne House. Russell and John are perfect hosts and the rooms are beautiful. Every need is cared for and their attention to detail is wonderful. The breakfast really is cooked to perfection. The room we had upstairs was absolutely superb with double basins in the bathroom and lovely big shower. There is so much to do around Franschhoek, with excellent food and the Motor Museum is definitely worth a visit. Russell is on hand to give advice and is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. Russell and John are very good hosts adn the breakfasts were excellent - best scrambled egg I've had ever!! The house itself is very nicely decorated but they seem to keep all the windows closed (perhaps it's a security issue). Our room (number 3) was very spacious but I did feel it was a little dark and one couldn't really leave the curtains or doors open (room had no windows) because people walking past could see into the room. Apart from that it was a really comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashbourne House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Guest House

Address: 47 Huguenot Street | P.O. Box 31, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously restored Colonial retreat set in tranquil gardens with soaring mountain views in the heart of Franschhoek village, the food and wine capital of South Africa. Luxuriously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, each with own entrance and private patio. Soak up the sunshine and pure mountain air at the secluded heated pool. Stroll to the village with its vibrant cosmopolitan atmosphere. Delicious a la carte breakfasts. Parking. Limited smoking. Children 16+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashbourne House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashbourne House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.