We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a first class restuarant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reuben's

Reuben's
19 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek, South Africa
021 876 3772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a first class restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Delicious food and a large and varied wine list. We drank a delicious pinot noir and had a very tast meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    235
    126
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked a dinner for 4 at Reuben's during a stay in Franschhoek over the Heritage day long weekend. We all had big expectations for the restaurant but unfortunately it did not deliver. The food was nothing special and completely overpriced. A lunch at George Jardin's restaurant on Jordan wine estate the previous day was ten times better and more than worth the price paid.
Will not be returning to Reuben's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quality food and quality service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Quility is the word to repeat! I've been to ruebens twice. First time I was overwhelmed and second time I was very satisfied. Consistent quality for anyone who wants a good meal!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Franchoek must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our time here. The staff was super helpfull and the food was good all be it a bit on the expensive side. You most certainly pay for the name. If you have not been here before it is a must experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Solid Bistro that can be Hit or Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We selected Reuben's on Sunday night when several of the more high-end restaurants were not open. My entree, the Pork Belly, was fantastic, but my dining companion's duck was mediocre. The wines were good but again some weak options. Pick wisely. We enjoyed the fireplace and warm atmosphere but felt Reuben's was not as exceptional as other options in Franschhoek - most notable the Tasting Room (or any of the Quartier Francais options) and Le Petit Fermier.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Reuben's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reuben's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.