We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek to your Saves list
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Franschhoek is a lovely lovely town. Very relaxing, even our 2 year old was in his zone :) Had a very cosy stay at this guesthouse's suite, which was squeaky clean. Good view and a private patio. Planning another trip already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    95
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
215
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lavender farm guest house, it was upsetting that the tv in the honeymoon room was not working! We asked for it to be fixed but they said they cannot without the owner being there. Staff should know how to assist without the owner.
Secondly, they said they cannot recommend anything for us to do as the owner was not there. Let down...
My stay was just average. No difference between a normal room and a honeymoon room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were warmly greeted when we arrived, checked in and shown to our room. This was a very well appointed room. Spacious, comfortable with it's own patio, a great view and perfect to watch the sun go down. Just a little to far to walk in to town but if you enjoy a quiet place this ranks high up there. Breakfast was good and offered a nice healthy selection alongside a cooked option. This is a very well maintained guesthouse offering a welcoming and friendly service.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great view, patio, looks out on the the lavender field, great to watch the sun go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful upmarket clean and comfortable accommodation, in a great central location but not right in town, with super staff who are very friendly, kind, helpful and accommodating. As I work with many foreign tourists I will definitely recommend Lavender Farm to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our 2nd time back to Lavender guest farm, what was really nice the owner/manager Don remembered us from last year. The Lavender fields have really grown since the last time we we there and are beautiful. The rooms are clean, well decorated and really nice comfy beds.
Breakfast was great (our mushrooms were delish and fresh). We really love this place and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing, romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are the same, but if you can ask to stay down the bottom the rooms overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had an amazing weekend in Franschoek at the Lavender Farm Guest. Having read some of the previous reviews I was slightly apprehensive but having visited myself for the first time I thought it was great and was pleasantly surprised. I would recommend the accommodation to anyone that wants a quiet piece of paradise tucked away from the hub bub of the town. I must say the breakfast was also a great bonus. I would definitely visit again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This past weekend I was treated to a weekend away at Lavender Farm. Located just on the outskirts of the main part of town, its close enough to town, but far enough to be in the quiet countryside.
The rooms are all brand new, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Percale sheets on a very comfortable bed, good heating, although the air con could have been a little quieter, and a great shower! O, there is also DSTV with just a few channels, but goodness, one is not escaping to watch TV are we now?
Breakfast was simple, but sufficient, and the staff friendly and helpful.
Just wish it could have been warm enough to make use of the pool and the loungers!
Thanks! We'll be back.

Room Tip: try and book one of the four facing the lavender fields. Unfortunately those were already booked, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek

Address: 1 Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.