We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Get Away in the Heart of Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Clermont

Save Saved
You added Auberge Clermont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Romantic Get Away in the Heart of Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I recently stayed here with my husband and another couple. We had a wonderful time in this beautiful area! The house is fantastic with luxury suites complete with big comfy beds and below floor heating. The location is perfect, within easy driving distance from the main town as well as quick access to Paarl and Stellenbosch. The service from Stephan and Jane was fantastic! They were always there to make dinner reservations, suggest hiking and winery locations, and even help with preparations for our last minute picnic in the main sitting area. Every wish was granted with a smile!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We found the Auberge Clermont to be an outstanding B&B in all aspects. Its location in a vineyard just outside Franschhoek was ideal, with views of the mountains all around. Our bedroom was one of the loft rooms, airy, very spacious and beautifully furnished with a large ensuite bathroom. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff very attentive and helpful. We were just sorry we only had two nights here before moving on. We would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Excellent guest house, we were on our honeymoon, had a large room in the loft, great views, lovely letter left for us on our arrival welcoming us and congradulating us, complimentary wine. House set in a lovely tranquil area, great views of the countryside and the hills surroundingFranschhoek. Very close to horse riding stables, vineyards and the restaurants.
Stayed 2 nights, would have loved to have stayed longer. Staff were very nice, they aranged a picnic for us to take away with us on our final day, providing wine, there own plates and coutlary, wet towels and 2 bags of food, that consisted off everything. We be back to stay there again on my next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed in the Villa for five days in November, as we were in Franschoek for a family wedding. It was brilliant to have the pool and tennis court for ourselves, and for occasional visitors who were staying in other places in Franschoek.
We were particularly impressed by the gardens (the white roses everywhere), and the genuine feel of the villa, with log fires and quirky bathrooms. The breakfast was great, and we would love to come back some time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This bed and breakfast makes no pretensions and is a picture postcard building set on a beautiful working wine, olive and fruit estate. Our bedroom was on the first floor set in the high eaves of what was previously a farm building. There are only about seven rooms in total, spotless and well-kitted out. The breakfast was excellent, fresh and attractively presented. It is prefectly situated for touring the Wine Region.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Auberge Clermont is one of those places that you may stay at for a day but wish you had booked for a week.

It is in a beautiful location a block or two away from the main street looking on to cloud-covered mountains. It is also set in a genuine, working olive farm and vineyard.

It is not as expensive as a lot of other places on the main street but is probably more "authentic".

Some highlights were:
* The stunning location
* The accomodation was gorgeous, like a quaint rural French cottage
* Lovely large bathroom - Molton Brown toiletries!!!! - A++ (it's a girl thing) and convenient make-up mirror. Lots of thought was obviously put into the little pleasures
* Only a block or two away from main street (with its restaurants including The Tasting Room at Le Quartier Francois) and located on a genuine working olive farm/vineyard so it really felt like you were in a country village
* Friendly check-in staff and porter
* Plenty of parking inside the property

The only *slight* negative, and it wasn't a huge one, was that breakfast the next day was a bit of a let-down. There was nothing terribly wrong with it but it was a bit bland - the salmon omelette really was just a plain omelette with salmon in it etc… Disappointing given the location and presumably fresh produce around. If they improved the breakfast, it would have been flawless.

Auberge Clermont would be a perfect honeymooner destination and is very romantic. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Superb for young couples seeking a romantic break in agorgeous peaceful rural setting, yet easily walkable from the village.

Stephan is great on reception and you get a luxury feel. Breakfast is a cut above the average too and lots of extra touches everywhere show the owners care.

Some might prefer to be in the village itself, but then you would lose the feeling of actually being on a wine farm.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Clermont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.