We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Franschoek!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foliage Restaurant

Foliage Restaurant
11 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 2328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Franschhoek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sustainable comfort cooking in a relaxed bistro setting. Big fireplace, wooden tables & chairs and open plan kitchen. Local produce and wines with an emphasis on terroir cooking. And now fully licensed.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem in Franschoek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had lunch at Foliage this Saturday and what a fantastic experience it was. I think the chef Chris is an artist. He creates the most beautiful, different and exquisite food. We had 2 starters and shared the pork shoulder. All very tasty, cant wait to go back and sample some more dishes. Also had an excellent chenin from the Olifants region! He has only been open for a month but i wish him all the success in the world.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    41
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chris Erasmus at his best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have to start 2 weeks earlier, when we had sunday lunch at La Motte, one of my favourite eateries in the winelands, but we were quite disappointed. When I asked the waiter, I learned that there is a different chef, and Chris Erasmus opened up a new place.
So, the next sunday we headed out to Franschhoek to visit his new Restaurant Foliage.
It is located on the main street, but already a bit out of the really busy center.
The welcome was warm and the service was very attentive and friendly. The food was exceptional. I had slow roasted pork shoulder, which was so tender, it melted in my mouth and it was packed with flavours. My wife had a pork and impala curry, which was terrific. All the other course were outstanding as well and the wine list is good and displays all the great Western Cape wines, the open red was a wonderful cabernet from Reyneke. We will be back for sure, since it was one of the best food i had in a while.
As mentioned, the service was extremely friendly and the wife of Chris, who runs also the gallery next door, supervises it, so there are no hiccups. The intimacy shows in such small gestures as she took our baby and cuddled it while we had our starter.
Though the place is just open for 4 weeks, it was already packed, so make sure you book up front.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great new Franschhoek Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We tried this new restaurant in its first week and were really impressed. Small and cosy, thanks to the log fire, we had a delicious meal and good service. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Contagious Energy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Contagious energy. Enjoyment. Satisfaction. Fun. Enthusiasm.

Chef Chris Erasmus at his new Foliage restaurant in Franschhoek. The menu is a tad mind boggling, with ingredient selections like 'dandelion pesta' My risotto, served as a starter portion, was scrumptious and my venison shank excellent.

The earth coloured plates don't do anything to stimulate the visual representation the food deserves.

Nothing on the plate, however, compared to the excellent attention and service. Personal, in this small restaurant that needs to be nurtured and revered. Unique, special and for those, fortunate few, to enjoy and appreciate how fortunate they are.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Taste Sensation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went there for lunch. What an experience. Every bite of food was an experience. Well thought through and perfect in every sense. This guy can cook, there is no doubt. The restaurant is also beautifully decorated, simple and sleek. An absolute pleasure. Anyone who appreciates great food and sensations - go there. This wi become a new Franschoek favourite, I am certain of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foliage Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Foliage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foliage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.