We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Chanteclair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Auberge Chanteclair to your Saves list
L'Auberge Chanteclair
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in l'Auberge Chanteclair for 2 nights in october in The Studio. The room is huge, with a good bed and a separate sitting area with fireplace and a small terrace. The breakfast terrace is very cozy and the gardens are beautiful. For me the view of the mountains is the most fantastic feature of this guesthouse. The guesthouse is very close to Franschhoek, but because the road is unpaved, walking is not very comfortable. Luckily a taxi was easily arranged by Bob, just like everything else. The only thing keeping me from rating this guesthouse excellent is the fact that the bathroom could use some upgrading.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having visited Franschhoek many times before for weekends (we live in Cape Town), we came across Chanteclair by chance, as we couldn't get into the guesthouse we normally stay in as there was a Festival on. As we were taking friends who were visiting SA, I was a little worried about how it would turn out, and hoped that it wouldn't disappoint. And it turned out that we had absolutely nothing to worry about! Bob and Leslie made us so welcome at their charming guesthouse and honestly couldn't do too much for us. The rooms were fantastic, and we were delighted by our huge bed and open fire in the bedroom. An especially wonderful touch was that our hosts asked what time we would be back from dinner so that they could light the fires in the sitting room and in our bedroom, as well as putting on the heated blankets for us. Chanteclair is ideally situated 5-10 minutes walk from town, which is a very pleasant stroll. The positioning is wonderful. Breakfast was excellent (as was their wine, which we enjoyed a bottle of the night before!) and we were sent on our way with a bag of lemons we picked from the tree, and a case of wine which we bought. The best recommendation of our stay? After a night here, we immediately cancelled our weekend at our old favorite in Franschhoek for later in the year, and booked ourselves and other friends in here. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: check website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

L'Auberge Chanteclair provides the ideal combination of peace and quiet, beautiful rooms, terraces, gardens and views with a nice pool only ten minutes walk from the top end of the village with its superb restaurants and shops. Bob and Leslie provide fantastic breakfasts and are the perfect hosts.
I would highly recommend this as a place to relax while exploring this idyllic valley. Cycling to different vineyards and walking in the mountains above were a particular highlight. The La Motte Estate is definitely worth a visit.
Should we return to the area, we would certainly stay at Chateclair again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Revisiting the Chanteclair for a second timewith our our grownup children and our two teenage grandchildren we were welcomed into this beautiful guest house and nothing was too much trouble. Bob and Leslie's help and advise were invaluable and our every need catered for. If we are ever fortunate to visit beautiful Franschoek again we will return to the Chanteclair

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

You will never bore of the Mountains views as you drink the Chanteclair wine while sitting on the porch outside. The breakfasts served here far exceed any 4 star hotel, homemade Jams and strewed fruits and a full breakfast cooked to perfection.We hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have stayed at Chanteclair with my wife every year for the past few years and its gets better every time. Franschhoek is the most beautiful of towns but staying at L'auberge Chanteclair really does make it the most perfect holiday! We have never stayed anywhere else that even comes near the charm and tranquility of this guest house. Bob and Lesley are fantastic hosts and will do anything to help make your stay even better. We now have a young daughter so unfortunately can't stay there with her but having stayed there numerous times, we totally understand why young children are not allowed. If you want to relax and enjoy the amazing food and wine of Franschhoek, you must sample this wonderful place! Most people we have met while staying there are returning guests so definitely says something about its appeal! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

The property is a short walk from the town but you could drive with ample free parking in Franschhoek. Our room was dated and could do with a refurbubishment along with no air conditioning it made the room rate expensive in comparison to other guest houses. The hosts Bob and Lesley are wonderful, informative and helpful, they could not do enough for you. The breakfasts are good. The grounds are lovely with vines, pear orchard, pool and lake.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Chanteclair

Address: Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Chanteclair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Chanteclair nestles in the Franschhoek valley with panoramic views of the vineyards, mountains and valley. The Victorian farmhouse, with it's lofty ceilings and light and airy rooms set in wonderful landscaped gardens amongst spreading Oak and Jacaranda trees, has a very special ambiance. All our rooms are en-suite, with bar fridges, tea and coffee making facilities, some with fireplaces and others with their own private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Auberge Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Chanteclair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.