We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plum choice.....tips in the review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Plumwood Inn to your Saves list
Plumwood Inn
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Plum choice.....tips in the review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Obviously with its current rating, then Plumwood Inn is going to please most guests. Charming staff, great location etc etc.

First tip get a garden room - preferably first floor0- great views and more privacy.

Pool was too cold for us- a common theme in our trip- are there no pool heaters in RSA?

Owners are friendly but reserved - staff especially Christophe were great. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the homemade muffins were delish- different each morning. Really liked the honesty bar.

We loved Franshoek- easy access to the main High Street. Let the hosts book your restaurants- we got great tables.

First night at Ryans Kitchen- very foody tasting menu but great value compared to UK prices- only really for real foody connoisseurs as it was very intense with an open kithen and lots of micro courses

Reubens- good fine dining and good value. Loved the local Elephant and Barrel pub- great value pub grub.

I really recommend the day wine and cheese trip with Brad that the Inn can book for you- he was so knowledgeable and a thoroughly good bloke- try the picnic lunch!

Room Tip: Garden room better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
271
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The building itself is beautiful and Franschoek is also a lovely place. We liked it, but were not overwhelmed. We were on our Honeymoon and only staying for 3 nights, for much needed R&R at the end of a hectic trip, we arrived to find we had been given the room at the very front of the property. Inside a lovely room, no issues, in fact its one of the best showers i've ever had. However, as we unfortunately got a dose of food poisoning towards the end of our trip we ended up spending a lot of time in the room and came to find it a bit 'uncomfortable'. The main office is the room directly next door, so every time a member of staff came out to greet someone, we could hear their conversation in detail. One night there was a very noisy group on site, who making use of the main living space, kept us awake one night and woke us up again coming back. I don't think the rooms at the back of the property would have had the same problem with noise. Not to mention feeling uneasy about having the blinds open as our room looked right out on to the road, not the relaxation we had in mind to watch the local bin men at work. A better positioning of the room would have left us feeling much happier. I personally didnt eat breakfast during our stay but my husband assured me it was very nice. Christopher was especially helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lived up to all of our expectations after reading the excellent reviews. We stayed in one of the newer buildings... The rooms and bathrooms are huge, great private terrace for relaxing with views over the hills and vineyards, good breakfast, location is perfect (quiet but still a 2 minute walk to all the top restaurants), extremely secure, and the owners and staff were ever present and outstanding in dealing with recommendations and bookings for us during our 3 night stay!

Top Marks - So good we changed our plans and extended our 2 night stay to a 3 night stay!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer buildings are nicer and larger than they look on the website pictures. Ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Large rooms, very well noise insulated very safe and secure including in room safes! A stones throw from the high street and all its resturants and bars.

Great breakfast, good pool and staff that can't do enough for you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had three nights at Plumwood and I can't think of a single fault. Beautiful accommodation, a superb setting, very friendly and helpful staff and owners (especially Christopher), and a good breakfast. We stayed in one of the 2nd storey in the Annexe, and enjoyed a great view from our bedroom and balcony. An absolutely fantastic spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Everything about this guesthouse is perfect - the owners are really friendly and helpful, rooms beautifully appointed with an amazing bathroom and the best shower ever! Breakfast buffet has an excellent selection and the location is perfect, being just a 2 minute stroll into the town centre and the excellent choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newest block with a delightful balcony overlooking the garden and pool area, als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flobie7
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Like a luxury boutique hotel. We felt relaxed and at home from the moment we walked through the door. Amazing large bathroom, beautifully soft towels and robes, a welcoming pool and a balcony overlooking the pool and mountains. We spent the first afternoon relaxing in the afternoon sun on the balcony drinking a gorgeous bottle of wine from the B&B fridge for a mere 79 Rand (amazing value).

Great recommendations for dinner from the manager, and really helpful advice from the lovely Dutch couple that run the B&B over breakfast - it absolutely made our stay and I wish that we had been able to stay for longer. We had 2 nights, but if I was going again I would stay longer - 4 minimum. Looking back on our two weeks on holiday, this was our absolute highlight. Loved it, and will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely get a luxury room on the first floor in the annexe behind the main house: fabulous balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Tingo so you can book your Plumwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plumwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.