We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Plumwood Inn to your Saves list
Plumwood Inn
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Plumwood Inn for 4 nights in November. We had a gorgeous room, the service was impeccable and the owner was extremely helpful. Recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a central location with excellent quality and service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
272
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We can confirm the other reviews - the rooms are fantastic, the view of the garden and the hillside is stunning and the overall service level is max professional. And their location in 'downtown' Franschhoek is in walking distance from top restaurants and vineyards.
And on top of this there's a 'no kids under 12' policy making it a safe haven when booking a week for relaxation.
We would also like to appraise Roel and Lucienne for helping us with restaurant reservations and pickup service - especially around new year, when all the top restaurants required pre-bookings in advance.

It's no wonder the Plumwood Inn have so many returning customers - we hope to join this group of gifted travellers some time in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend one of the upper rooms for the best view and a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Plumwood for 2 nights and had the most fantastic room overlooking the vineyards and mountains, with a generous sized balcony where you could watch the sun go down.
The Inn is a short walk from the town in a quiet spot and has 2 lovely outdoor pools in beautifully tended gardens that you can while away a few hours in between wine tastings. If you'd rather be indoors there are a couple of sumptuous lounges that makes this place difficult to leave.
The breakfasts are prepared with care and attention with lots of choice and served in a light airy room and verandah overlooking the pool and gardens.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing on the 1st floor and the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent four nights in Plumwood Inn including New year's Eve. The Inn is just a stone's throw from the town's main street but it still nice and peaceful. We stayed in one of the luxury rooms which had a stunning view of the surrounding countryside. I don't remember specifically requesting this room so I think we just got lucky but it was truly a spectacular view which made me think I was looking at a photoshopped postcard everytime I walked onto the room's balcony.
There is a nice and quiet pool area, although the pool is more of a size for taking a quick dip to cool down rather than for a proper swim.
A fresh and tasty breakfast and accomodating and pleasant hosts made it a place we would, without doubt, return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

No words can describe what a fantastic time we had during the 6 nights we stayed at the Plumwood Inn. It has been fantastic, it is hard leaving this place.
The guesthouse looks very small when arriving, as you only see the one building. Once you go through the amazing lounge, a whole new world opens to you. First a small pool, then garden and 2 more buildings (the villas) and the pool.
The garden is just wonderful. You are a stones throw from the main street, and jet the garden feels like an oasis. Very well manicured, tranquil and mature. There has gone a lot of thought in designing this garden.
Same for the rooms, Roell and Lucienne have thought of everything when they designed the rooms. Best views, beautiful bathrooms. Fluffy towels, crisp linen, huge beds, lovely bath salts.
The breakfast is a feast every day, homemade muffins, stewed fruit, cooked plum compote, cold meats and cheese and the most delicious homemade marmalade and jam. The tables in the breakfast room overlook the garden, pool and mountains. A good sized pool with salt water.
When making the booking through their own website, I got a speedy confirmation of the booking and in no time our restaurant reservations had been made. And good that we did as we wouldn’t have gotten a table in the restaurants we wanted if we hadn’t had the reservations.
Best hospitality, lovely owners and the staff is very friendly and obviously very happy there.
And best of all, the guesthouse is childfree!
At Plumwood Inn, they haven't seen the last of us.

Room Tip: Take a luxury room, it is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited plumwood inn for our fourth visit and that speaks volumes.The guest house is ideally located in the cente of franschoek but one street back from the main road so ensuring a quiet spot both day and night.We stayed in the new wing of plumwood and boy what a view first thing in the morning looking up the valley.That view will remain in my mind for a long time sepecially on a cold winter grey morning like today.The service from the owners lucienne and raoul is execptional very informative but unobtrusive at the same thing and their restaurants recommendations were spot on and they made all our bookings for us well in advance of our trip.thanks to you both once again.

Room Tip: first floor in new wing gives a fantastic view and ensures late evening sun to read a good book on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a very relaxing 4 night stay in December. The owners were very helpful and offered great advice on restaurants. The location is perfect, less than 5 minutes walk from the best restaurants in town. We went on a wine tour arranged by the guesthouse which was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Tingo so you can book your Plumwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plumwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.