We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great End to a Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Chambres Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Chambres Guest House to your Saves list
Les Chambres Guest House
3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
South East
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great End to a Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent the last 4 nights of our memorable South African holiday at Les Chambres and it was everything we expected and more.
It is very quiet and the rooms are spacious and nothing could be faulted. Great swimming pool too so at least there is a chance to burn off some of the calories from Bill's breakfasts and the local excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 2 does have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent two nights at Les Chambres. The rooms were nice and spacious, the breakfasts were excellent and the location was fantastic. Unfortunately, we had an issue in our room with ants. We noticed this problem first when we saw a line of ants walking up and down the bedroom wall. We brought this to attention of the owner who sprayed the room and this seemed to solve the problem. The following night however we found about 20 ants on our bed. This did not make for the most restful night. We mentioned this to the owner again who apologised (albeit weakly) and told us TIA -this is africa.We felt this was a disappointing reply/line/excuse from the owner especially since we really did not make a fuss like some guests would. His attitude left a bad taste in our mouth which was a disappointing way to end our lovely 2 days in amazing franshoek, especially when this property was recommended to us by friends in South Africa. There are plenty of other nice properties in franshoek.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
You rated the cleanliness of your room as 1 out of 5 stars which is the equivalent of ‘Terrible’.

In your review you did not mention your room being unclean, so this rating is presumably because of the ants you encountered. This seems to suggest that you think there was something I could (or should) have done to further prevent the ants entering your room.

During your stay we had some rain and, as I explained at the time, ants do sometimes leave their underground nests when they know rain is coming. Occasionally (usually only in winter – our rainy season) they enter the building.

Naturally we try to prevent this. We can and do spray the entrances if we notice ants inside. Unfortunately there is really nothing else that can be done as prevention - if you have any suggestions I would, sincerely, like to know. We don’t spray unless ants are seen; after all the spray is poisonous, which is why we would never have sprayed your bed.

Upon your departure you informed me that the previous night, when you returned from dinner, you found ±20 ants on your bed. Presumably because it was late at night you did not contact me at the time, so it was not possible for me to attend to the matter. If you had contacted me, I would have taken a tissue, wiped-away the ants and put the tissue in the bin. As it happens (as you informed me the following morning), this is exactly what you did yourself.

You also rated our service as ‘Average’. Again, I am not sure what more you expected me to do. When you initially informed me of the few ants in your room, I did all that I could have, i.e. spray the entrances - to prevent further ants from entering - and removed those already inside. When you again encountered ants two days later I was not informed, so it really was not possible for me to do anything further.

Upon being informed of you having to remove the ants from the bed, I did apologise and if my apology was ‘weak’ I again apologise. But it was probably because it really didn’t seem like a serious issue and was something that only required 5 seconds to rectify. Your comment to me at the time that it was, “Totally disgusting” still baffles me; presumably you don’t have ants in Ireland.

And yes, I did say, “This is Africa” and that we have ants, crickets & spiders etc and that on a visit to Africa one should expect to encounter some of these. If you go on safari it would not be unheard of to also encounter snakes and scorpions, even in a 5-star camp.

But just for clarification (for anyone else reading this review), we are not talking of giant Amazonian killer ants. These are tiny, harmless ants, each the size of a pin-head. Of course, this does not mean we don’t care about such issues - we do – but just that your reaction seems completely out of proportion.

Everyone in the accommodation works extremely hard to provide a high level of service. Of course we don’t always get everything right but we do rectify matters as soon as possible. As this matter was not brought to my attention at the time I was not able to do anything about it.
Over 10,000 guests have stayed at Les Chambres with most (75%) rating us ‘Excellent’, 24% rating us ‘Very good’ and only two others (yours being one of them) have rated us lower. We all depend upon reviews to aid our marketing efforts and negative reviews do have an adverse effect on our businesses and therefore our livelihoods. This makes reviews such as this extremely frustrating.

But, anyway, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We genuinely do appreciate all comments, even negative ones, as it gives us the opportunity to improve our standards. We will bear your comments in mind and, hopefully, be able to prevent future similar occurrences.

Sincerely

Bill Stemp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Me and two friends from the UK had the most special time at Les Chambres. Bill, the owner, is a great host and breakfast chef. The other guests were engaging and we felt relaxed and taken care of in the most beautiful spot in the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Johanna

I was lovely to meet you all.

I hope to see you again next time your are all on the same continent together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent the last 4 nights of our trip to SA in this beautiful guest house. Our first visit to SA has been wonderful and this guest house the best stay of all. Beautiful rooms, bathrooms and gardens. A pretty pool surrounded by flowers and trees, with plenty of shade and comfortable sun beds. Bill cooks breakfast to order, which is taken on a shady terrace. The setting is most convenient, being minutes walk from the main street, yet remaining a peaceful location. Bill was very helpful in guiding us to the best eateries and vineyards to visit. The Saturday village market in Franschhoek was lovely, well worth a visit to sip a glass of champagne and nibble some local delicacies under the shady trees. I can't wait to return and recommend Les Chambres unreservedly.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We could not have asked for a better place to spend Christmas. It is the second time we have stayed at Les Chambres and it continues to impress. The guesthouse is Victorian and is situated in a lovely garden complete with a heated pool, which was a welcome relief after a day spent touring the local wineries! The rooms, complete with an ensuite bathroom, are extremely comfortable and well serviced - ideal for a long stay. Les Chambres is in the perfect location, in walking distance of many great restaurants and the main street with all its boutiques and shops. Bill is a fantastic host and his great breakfasts set us up for the day. He was a great help making restaurant recommendations and reservations for us back in October, something that was essential for the busy holiday period. He also recommended the hike up Mt. Rochelle that takes you high above Franschhoek and has some pretty spectacular views of the valley and beyond. Thank you Bill and your staff for making this a Christmas to remember. We will surely see you again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roesrath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

again we spent three wonderful weeks in Les Chambres Guesthouse. It's located in the center of Franschhoek near to the Police Station so that you need not to care about security. The main street with its boutiques, shops and famous restaurants is in walking distance. You definitely don't need a car. Taxis are available at reasonable cost if ever needed.
The elegant Victorian Style guesthouse is located in a beautiful garden. You even will find the very rare Cape Chameleon there (see attached picture). There is also a heated swimming pool of reasonable size. The rooms are luxurious with large en suite bath rooms. Service is excellent.
Bill, the owner, is taking utmost care of his guests. Together with his staff he is preparing an outstanding cold and hot breakfast according to your preferences. He also will support you in making reservations at restaurants. The guests have access to Internet via WiFi and a special PC in the Lobby.
I am sure we will visit Les Chambres again.

Room Tip: Les Chambres is offering four double rooms. All are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Peter and Helga

Thank you for the kind words.
I'm so pleased that you had another enjoyable stay with us and I hope to see you again in November.

P.S. The chameleons are still in the garden, but we have not yet seen any babies.

Kind regards

Bill Stemp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Franschoek is Janine's favourite town and Les Chambers made it even more special. Great place, beautiful setting and a immaculate run guest house. A must stay when in Franschoek. Bill, the owner is a fantastic host, and cooks a mean breakfast!!!! Bill, many thanks for a brilliant weekend.
Steve & Janine

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Chambres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.