We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Les Chambres Guest House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Chambres Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Chambres Guest House to your Saves list
Les Chambres Guest House
3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Les Chambres Guest House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at Les Chambres at the end of our honeymoon. It was a wonderful way to end our stay in an amazing country. The guest house is so clean and beautiful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom was awesome as well! Breakfast was delicious- there was a great variety of things to pick from- so good! The house is just a short walk to town where we were able to have dinner or stroll along the streets of Franschhoek. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in wine country!

  • Liked — Location, Clean beautiful rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
115
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Les Chambres is everything you need it to be: a charming authentic building, clean and well located. It has a beautiful garden and a pool (if that's something you need). The owners are very helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — location & charm
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, SA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed at Les Chambres for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. It was perfect - exactly what we were looking for. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, and we felt like we had plenty of privacy even though the 3 other rooms around us were occupied.

Bill & Sandy did an excellent job of welcoming us to Franschhoek, and booked restaurants on our behalf. We had to change on of our booking at the last minute, and Sandy was able to recommend 2 other restaurants and book for us there within minutes.

Definitely worth a stay there - its centrally located in the suburbs of Franschhoek, within easy walk of the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Spent 3 nights at Les Chambres, (not long enough), it was the favourite part of our 2 week trip to Cape Town and it's environs.
Our room was big, bright and airy and very comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely on the terrace each morning.The owners Sandy and Bill were very hospitable and extreamly helpful and friendly. An added bonus for us was Frank and Archie their 2 cats as we were missing our own cat Millie a lot! They also had a great little puppy called Monty. He was a stray and they were looking for a home for him but all the guests were trying to persuade them to keep him as he was clearly so happy there!
Would highly recommend this place, it was so peaceful and relaxed and we hope to return again some time in the not too distant future.
Top tip would be to make sure you book all your restaurant reservations in advance as all the best places to eat are booked up well in advance. Bill was kind enough to do this for us the month before we arrived.

Chris and Gill, Manchester, England

  • Liked — The atmosphere and environment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed for two very enjoyable nights with some friends. The guesthouse is very good value and the place is run with great efficiency.

Here's what I liked:

* Large, well equipped rooms
* Great beds - incredibly comfortable
* Awesome showers - amazing!
* Nice little private patios next to room
* Heated swimming pool
* Uncrowded sun-lounger area
* Beautiful gardens filled with flowers
* Breakfast on a sunny patio in the mornings
* Good location - 3 minutes walk to main street
* Convienient - one key unlocked all locks
* Off-Street parking
* Main house very smart and yet homely
* Very efficient owners - very 'on the ball'
* Owners made good dinner recommendations. 'The French Copnnection' was particuarly good.

One minor critiscism is that whilst the owners are very good and far from being unfriendly, they are not the most vivacious and charming people you will meet - but they are direct and honest and have a beautiful place, which at the end of the day is probably more important.

Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Showers and heated pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

After four days in Cape Town we headed in our small rental car to the wine lands and the wonderful Les Chambres guest house. What a fantastic place. The owner was there to meet and greet us and promptly showed us to our room, room number 1. It is well decorated, ultra clean with fresh flowers in the room, a large bathroom and the best bit, no television. Get out there and enjoy the town! We spent the afternoon walking and exploring the town, eating and drinking, then the evening in to Rubans restaurant, which you must try it is ace!
The breakfast at Les Chambres was cooked to perfection and we were left alone to enjoy our toast and coffee, with the occasional visit by one of the two cats, it felt like we were in our own home, how much better can that feel?
With all of the travelling around we had been doing this was a great place to kick back, take a breath and enjoy our holiday.
It is simple one of the best places to stop, we cannot recommend it enough!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Stayed three nights here in March - a beautiful colonial house in the middle of Franschhoek with a lovely garden, decent size pool, rooms are large and full of light - we were in the "Stone room" . Lovely large bathroom with free-standing Vicotrian bath.

Only a hundred metres or so from the main street but really peaceful and a great place to relax at the end of our holiday.

Plenty of help from the owners - Bill & Sandy, who recommended or booked restaurants for us and Sandy sorted out winetasting on horseback at Mont Rochelle a couple of minutes away - great fun and a must even if (like us) you've never been on a horse before (only tip would be don't do it the day before a twelve hour flight - can be a bit sore in places!)

No honesty bar but a fridge on the verandah (see picture) so buy your own and chill down.

We were made to feel very welcome here and would definitely recommend it.

NB Best restaurant by a mile was Le Bon Vivant

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Chambres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.