We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Chambres Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Chambres Guest House to your Saves list
Les Chambres Guest House
3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely guesthouse. Great location, within walking distance of the main road and restaurants. Very quiet, lovely gardens and comfortable room. Lounge and dining room are in the main house and nicely decorated. Nice breakfast. Owner friendly and helpful, gave us good tips for nearby restaurants. Good value for money. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
115
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed one night in Franschoek and decided to stay at Les Chambres mainly due to other reviews on Tripadvisor. This is a lovely guest house and we were greeted by the owner and even though we were rather early this was no problem and we were shown to a large well appointed room. He also gave us help in selecting routes for the following day. The room was comfortable and the breakfast the following morning very nice. My only reservations were that the garden was looking rather overgrown and the bathroom was rather tired, but notwithstanding that, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spend 4 nights at Les Chambres and we really enjoyed the quiet athmosphere. It was fun to lie at the pool and one evening we use the verandah to have a small private garden dinner.
The main street of Franschhoek is just around the corner and the place looks really safe. All the restaurants in the centre are within walking distance.
The garden is really nice and impressive so we can recommend this place.
Being so close to the garden, we had some ants in our room which was not a problem for us, but may be for others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful guesthouse, very nice decorated rooms with perfect beds and a beautiful garden with an inviting (but small) pool area with very comfortable lounge chairs. There is a really nice lounge, it feels like a private sitting room and can be used for TV and Wifi. The breakfast is wonderful. You can easily walk to all the downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Les Chambres in December 2012 and would definately recommend it. The rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and airy and we LOVED the outdoor area. The pool was small but adequate and the sunloungers were extremely comfy. Beautiful gardens in a quiet neighbourhood. It was a quick and easy stroll to the main street with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Bill was helpful and avialable if needed. Breakfast was lovely, we would definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I could have stayed for days. This is a great B&B to use as a base for touring the surrounding area. Bill serves a very good breakfast and knows the area a great deal and will share with you all the details about these areas. I've been renovating and restoring old homes for 30 plus years and Bill has done an excellent job on this place. No cut corners here. Very well maintained. One important detail that Les Chambres understands and that 90% off all others fail at...Having GOOD PILLOWS!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in this lovely guest house in November. The room was large and bright (with a big well appointed bathroom) and the surrounding gardens were perfectly lovely. But probably best of all, our host, Bill, was very welcoming and helpful. And, not to forget the excellent breakfasts. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Chambres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.