We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Last Word Franschhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Last Word Franschhoek to your Saves list
The Last Word Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Southport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Just spent a superb two nights at this Hotel. Conrad, the manager and Franklyn the under manager were both so helpful and obliging and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
.
Our suite was very well appointed, with lovely bed lineen and toiletries and all drinks were included - on our last eveing it was a special treat to return to our bedroom, to be greeted with around 40 candles and a lovely bottle of 'bubbly'.

The Franschoekk, together with its sister hotel, the Constantia in Constantia in Capetwon really are the "last Word and "hidden Gems" for luxurious hospitality!! Just a wonderful experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    22
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
164
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This hotel is as other reviewers have said a hidden gem. Our room was spacious and had an outdoor courtyard. Conrad and the other staff did everything they could to make our stay go without a hitch. This included some good tips for visiting the vineyards and where to eat. We were surprised- though delighted- to arrive back to our room after evenings out to be met by rose petals on the bed, candles and 2 little pots of creme brulee to eat!! On the final night a bottle of bubbly along with all the other treats topped off what was unquestionably near perfect service with attention to detail.
One further point, I managed to leave something in the room which I only spotted 48 hours later- on arrival back in the UK- one phone call to Conrad it was quickly located and it was couriered back to me- very impressed!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We just returned from two weeks in South Africa and one of the highlights was our three night stay at The Franshhoek, which is one of five boutique hotels owned by The Last Word. Everything about those few days was first class - from luxurious accommodations to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

We were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Our room and all common areas were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We stayed in Pool Suite 2 which is the largest of the two pool suites. Interesting concept of private pool. There is actually one pool for both suites. It's 6'-7' wide and runs the length on both suites. Of course, there is a wall between the private courtyards but one could still swim from one area to the other. Interesting possibilities. Other than the size, another bonus to Pool Suite 2 is that water trickles from a fountain into the pool. Very soothing. If you want a pool suite definitely get #2.

Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff did all they could to make our time with them enjoyable but did so without being "over-the-top". Example. One afternoon we took a long, rather arduous hike and got home about cocktail hour. After inquiring about our hike and being informed we were going to sit by the pool, Conrad immediately offered to bring us a tray of snacks and bottle of wine. Both arrived within minutes. There were numerous other nice touches too. Rose pedals on the bed greeted us when we arrived. And after dinner our last night, we opened the door and were welcomed by the soft glow of 20 or so candles and a bottle of bubbles. We were not on our honeymoon but sure felt that way. First class indeed.

Could Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff have done anything to make our stay more relaxing and enjoyable? No. Our only suggestion is that The Last Word make robes and shirts available for sale. We loved the logo on the bathrobes "The Last Word....have it." Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Small hotel with massive charm with a nothing is too much mentality.

As a couple we travel extensively with work and for breaks, probably on average away every other week over the last 5 years, and have not stayed somewhere with the service levels and attention to detail of The Franschhoek.

We had an early flight and were met by Franklin - he informed us that the room was not ready (it was 9am) and would we like to stop off for a coffee and see Stellenbosch - a great idea which we took up and then decided to have a fabulous breakfast.

On arriving at the hotel we were met by a friendly Conrad, who showed us round the property and explained everything about the hotel, town and what we should see/do. We hadn't made any advance bookings so he sorted everything out for us - nothing was too much trouble. His recommendations were spot on!

The hotel only has 8 rooms to maintains a home from home feel, which the staff do everything to maintain - food/drink when you want it, no when they want to make it. The policy of unlimited drinks throughout the day is a great touch and shows that its the customer that matters not the profit margin.

I would have to say the room was excellent, loved the layout and was very impressed with the sprinkling of rose petals on the bed when we arrived and when we left the ladies had gone to town making the room as romantic as they could (took me ages to put out the 30 or so candles). We mentioned to Conrad that we had stayed in a hotel with a pre-loaded ipod and when we next went in the room he had prepared a cool CD with music that was playing.

The hotel has a great location in the town and is idea to explore the surrounding areas.

All in all this is a great place, with great staff, who are always on hand to attend to your needs, superbly led by Conrad. We will definately be revisiting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We have just returned from a three week trip to South Africa. This guest house is the top of our list in the places we stayed. Conrad and his staff do a wonderful job and his knowledge is excellent. He books restaurants for you in advance if you haven't booked them yourself. He arranged a superb wine tasting day for us around various boutique vineyards which we thoroughly enjoyed. On our return someone was always there with drinks and nibbles for us around the pool. The breakfasts were delicious. Our room was delightful and we were sorry to leave. This guest house is part of a group of guest houses called "the last word". If we ever return to this part of the world we will ceretainly choose to stay with this group. Thank you Conrad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed in The Franschhoek early this month and had an absolutely fabulous stay. Conrad and the team couldn't do enough for us, and our room was beautiful. We are fairly high end travellers with very high expectations - all of which were met and exceeded here. A & K

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the place fabulous. I have to admit that I am normally a big name/5* place adict but having booked this (honestly without realising it was a small guest house) I am a complete convert. Conrad, the manager cannot do enough for you and Franklin who's role is not clear is also wonderful! The room was stunning (although for 2 friends probably not perfect bathroom wise if you want privacy....) - great size, great facilities and absolutely perfectly prepared. The pool is small but beautiful (I think one room here might have it's own pool which I suspect is lovely). The feel of the place is really like a guest house and you very quickly feel at home. Location wise it couldn't be better for the center of franschoek and the great vineyards and restaurants. One of the best places I've stayed in terms of quality of rooms, service and location - if you have the chance to stay here you should....Conrad and his team run a really special place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Last Word Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.