We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Ferme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Ferme
Save
You added La Petite Ferme to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Franschhoek Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This unpretentious, beautifully situated estate is the most idyllic place imaginable. Superb wines, exceptional cuisine, heartfelt service and lovely accommodation. Not much more to add really. Hit all the right buttons with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    75
    17
    13
    9
See reviews for
36
181
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in November and had a superb, memorable experience. The welcome at the start was perfect and we were delighted with Pear Tree Cottage where we stayed. We then went straight into Sunday lunch, superb wines: the house sparkling wine, a great Sauvingnon Blanc followed by the Cabernet Franc. Great Malaysian fish cakes and 14hr slow roasted lamb. Ostrich bresaola wonderful too. Fresh rainbow trout also a highlight.

Next day, we had a great tour of the winery with John Dendy Young, whose enthusiasm and passion was impressive for a guy who does this tour every day. He loves this place and the magical views across the scoop of the Franschoek valley live long in the memory.

We loved this place and recommend it highly, it was the best place we stayed in the Cape region. Unpretentious, hard working and fun.

John's book also a great read.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

... and it delivered in spades. Absolutely fantastic. Private suite with plunge pool overlooking the vineyards and entirely secluded. Short stroll up to the restaurant for fantastic lunch of which warthog bresaola and kudu steak were the highlights. Truly first class wine and all at a reasonable(ish) price. Cannot recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Only 2 or 3 rooms available. Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as a second honeymoon and were really happy with everything. We arrived early for check in and although we had not booked for lunch, they made a table available for us which really shows they care about guests that are staying with them.

Lunch was delicious, my husband had the smoked trout and I had the lamb, both house specials, both divine! The lamb was a bit too large a portion for me but my husband was more than happy to finish it. Breakfast was lovely, delicious smoothie. We had lunch the second day after wine tasting, which was once again divine. We had tea/coffee after lunch in the garden which was truly relaxing.

Wine tour was the most structured, informative and interesting tour I have ever done. It is largely based around the tour itself with some tasting at the end, it really was fantastic.

Accommodation was lovely as expected. We stayed in the Africa suite which had it's own little plunge pool which was perfect, views were fantastic.

Service was excellent, we sadly booked a little late on so we could only stay 2 night, very sad that it couldn't have been longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We discovered this wonderful restaurant due to a recommendation of our hosts from DongolaHouse in Constantia and it was really a treasure!

Great views from the pass road over franschhoek valley with all it's vineyards.
Perfect and extraordinary services! We didn't had a reservation, but even that they were fully booked - they find a possiblitiy for us and supports us to have lunch there.

Very high food quality with a great selection of local specialties.

If you're in Franschhoek - make a stop and take in mimimun a glass of wine with a break in the breathtaking garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Only the sauvignon blanc was really outstanding....The food was ridiculous. We had the lamb, an speciality of the house. Oily and boring. it comes with 3 little babycorn...in the menu 'baby vegetables'...and mash potatoes without any spices. We just come back for the wine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Maybe getting a bit big to be able to give that personal attention,felt like that....but on the other hand -they know how to poach an egg ,and the orange juice is freshly squeezed ...
Maybe silly but I just can not stand when I get an egg poached in a form. It says about attention and skill in the kitchen.
Would be even better with WiFi in rooms.

Room Tip: First we had a look at the cottages opposite the street which we would not reccomend.Can be noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Franschhoek Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Ferme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.