We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Ferme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Ferme
Save
You added La Petite Ferme to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Franschhoek Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Close to the beautiful village of Franschhoek sits "La petite ferme", a fantastic hotel and restaurant. I visited in August 2012 (winter time) and I was delighted with the place, the panoramic view over the valley with majestic mountains on the back. Food and wine are esquisite and the service is perfect...with a great smile on each face. I will specifically recommend to try the stuffed aubergine with lamb and a glass of the great shiraz produced locally, and to finish tatste the home made Malva pudding,,,

If you are around Cape Town, don't miss a visit to Franschhoek and the "Petite ferme".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    79
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
194
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The location up the Franschoek Pass gave spectacular views of the Franschoek Valley. Menu was very creative, but lacked some of our favorites which were on the menu in past summer seasons. Our food order for mains came at different times and unfortunately one meal didn't come at all. Despite this, we will go back simply for the views!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent two nights in La Petite Maison at La Petite Ferme and it was just perfect. It's a little cottage on its own overlooking the vineyard with one of the most wonderful views we had during our whole stay. The picture they show you of the view 'from the cottage' really is the view you get, so much so that we didn't bother to go out on the first night - we just went to the local supermarket, bought the best steaks we've ever had and cooked ourselves. Sounds bonkers to stay in when you're in such a foodie heaven but after all the hustle and bustle of the wedding, it was just wonderful to have space to ourselves and when the sun went down we just moved inside and curled up by the fire. Just heavenly.

Room Tip: Don't be put off that La Petite Maison is the cheapest option on offer - you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Traveling with our two teenage kids, we booked 2 rooms at the inn. We had side by side rooms in the Manor House which had a nice patio and a pool. It was too cold to swim, but just right to enjoy the enormous fireplace with a glass of Cab. The rooms were large and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful soaking tub, I couldn't resist trying it. The vines on the hillsides were turning to autumn colors, what a beautiful view. Breakfast was simple but nice, everything I needed to start the day. Lunch however, is in another league. It was warm and lovely so we ate on the deck, everything was delicous. We took the winery tour which included some tasting. We had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wennigsen, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been in Franschhoek for the first time, but it won't be our last visit!!
We got the Pear Tree Cottage and it was one of our two best accomodations in South Africa!
The cottage is far away from the main building with its restaurant inside, getting there meant driving along a very small gravel path. But it was worth all times we got back to our incredible hideaway, lying in the midst of a vineyard. Nobody could watch us relaxing in the sun or cooling off in the splash pool and it wasn't a problem either getting under the shower outside, actually it was an enjoyment doing that during sunset.
And not to forget the small but perfectly presented and prepared breakfast. Unfortunately they didn't serve dinner, so we couldn't enjoy that this time, but that was the only tiny disadvantage.
Go there and pass your own judgement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I spent 1 night at La Petite in their Deluxe Vineyard Suite (name Deluxe), which is definitely one of, if not their best room. With the weather in Franschhoek being overcast and quite cold we were lucky enough to still have beautiful views of the valley intermittently. We made use of the gas fire in our room and the underfloor heating was a great plus when you have to walk around at night.

We dined at La Petite Ferme for lunch, the food was good - nothing incredible but homely, tasty and cooked well. Staff were welcoming and friendly, special mention to Melize who was quick to respond when the gas wouldn't light (wasn't turned on at the main outside). She was always with a friendly smile at reception. I will come again.

Room Tip: Book the luxury or deluxe vineyard suite's for a little more privacy (own private plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I had lunch at La Petite Ferme and was not disappointed by the good food. The tomato tart was superb, the lamb in a brinjal tower was excellent, albeit a little dry. Creme brulee was average. My only issue was the service, which was lacklustre, I felt rushed as we were served our entire meal in 30 minutes and a request for cutlery to eat my mains went unattended. Overall good food not supported with great service.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Franschhoek Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Ferme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.