We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a fan of good linen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holden Manz Wine Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holden Manz Wine Estate to your Saves list
Holden Manz Wine Estate
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly Klein Genot Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2015 Special Rate
Ranked #7 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'm a fan of good linen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Holden Manz Guest House feels like a home away from home when I go to Franschhoek. My husband and I are world travellers and are discerning about certain things. It did not disappoint. The owners are clearly meticulous about all elements at the guest house - food at the restaurant, curated all-local art work adorning the walls, Africology products in the bathroom, high-thread count bedding and the service are all top-class.

My favourite experience of Holden Manz is waking up to the clouds falling over the mountains. Nothing so spectacular.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
69
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have just returned from a week long stay at the Holden Manz Guest House and what can I say, this place really is heaven on earth.

From the moment you cross the bridge into the Estate you are transported into another world. The setting is magical and beyond description – but I’ll try. The guest house sits surrounded by a shield of magnificent mountains, facing out onto the Estate’s verdant vineyard. The guest house itself is a fine example of Cape Dutch architecture incorporating whitewashed walls, thatched roofs and vast, but welcoming, spaces. Inside is a treasure trove of contemporary South African art (the owners are also proprietors of the Holden Manz Art Collection on Main Street in Franschhoek, which should not be missed). Imagine being invited to a private view of a stunning collection of modern art, held in an interior from the pages of a glossy interiors magazine and this goes some way to describing the effect on first entering the guest house.

The guest accommodation is sumptuous, designed and styled on elegant, clean lines. Each suite has its own private terrace and enjoys terrific views of the immaculately groomed gardens and mountains beyond. Suites are accessed via a courtyard comprising a serene koi carp pond which adds to the feeling of complete calm and peace that is apparent from the moment you arrive at Holden Manz.

Both the natural and material beauty would be for nothing were it not for the genuine warmth and welcome of the Estate’s owners and staff. Their concern for your comfort and enjoyment is keenly felt and everyone I encountered clearly wanted nothing more than to ensure the guests’ needs and expectations were surpassed. Lameck in particular seemed able to anticipate my needs before I had even realised they existed. From delivering tea in bed at the requested time in the morning to preparing a perfect G&T for sundown this is a man who really knows how to look after you.

If the stunning scenery isn’t relaxing enough then check into the spa. The treatment rooms have the best views of any spa I have ever visited and Di’s magic touch will quickly soothe away any aches and pains brought with you.

If spa treatments aren't your thing then wander through the vines and sample the delicious home grown wines in the Estate winery.

Having found this earthly paradise it would be very tempting not to leave the Estate a moment before the end of your stay. We reluctantly tore ourselves away to explore Franschhoek and discover more of the Western Cape. The delightful Guest House Manager, Collette, went out of her way to help us plan our itineraries, booking advance tickets to tourist attractions for us where possible and arranging restaurant reservations etc. We had not rented a car and most helpfully the Estate provides a shuttle service into Franschhoek, use of which we gratefully accepted on a number of occasions. Franschhoek is a beautiful town - walking slowly along the main street enjoying the warmth of the sun and taking time to people watch and enjoy the beautiful window displays and various inviting eateries you really feel as if you have been transported to an earlier, more elegant time. We sampled a number of the local restaurants and enjoyed none more so than the Estate’s own Franschhoek Kitchen (see my separate review). Situated just across the vines from the Guest House the restaurant provides delectable food and wine in a setting that's second to none. There is little to rival wandering back to the guest house at night, through the vines under the awesome canopy of Southern stars, having relished the Estate’s top notch cuisine and wines, before sinking into a luxuriously comfortable bed made up with the finest linens.

I can’t say this is a home from home because this place is so much finer and grander than my own home, which is, of course, part of the charm. But when the owners invite you to make yourself at home there is no doubt this is sincerely meant and I spent many a happy hour roaming the Estate, exploring the verdant orchard and the river trails, pretending I was mistress of all I surveyed.

I have returned to the Northern Hemisphere with the happiest memories of this earthly paradise and am already dreaming of my return visit to the Holden Manz Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Indies
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We came to South Africa for a wedding in KZN and also decided to visit the Western Cape. Franschhoek was brilliant, but what made the stay so enjoyable was discovering the Holden Manz wine-estate with it's guest-house and restaurant. We had such a wonderful and restful time there. It is the most comfortable, warm and welcoming place imaginable. This is a tranquil place, just right for relaxation and recharging ones batteries. Where ever you look, you discover beautifully arranged flowers, art work, objects. This is a labour of love from the owners, the attention to detail is astonishing. Beautiful bedrooms, extremely comfortable, tasteful and very cosy . The beds are like sleeping on a cloud (I haven't slept so well in a long time), the showers are fabulous (even my husband who hates showers loved them), the furnishings exquisite and nothing, but nothing is too much for the owners and their staff. The attention to detail as mentioned before is amazing, from the big bowl of bath-salts by the bath-tub to the candles in the bathroom, the individual fires in each bedroom (we stayed in two different ones), free drinking water and especially the staff, particularly Lameck, who is a true gem. He remembered any of our little quirks and tastes, we felt really looked after. It was hard to leave, but the wedding in the Midlands made up for it, however, our plan to stay in KZN longer was scrapped and we returned post haste to Franschhoek and the Holden Manz Estate, because no where else came close. Another week of bliss and then it was time to say Good Bye. I would love to go back right now if I could, it is a truly magical place, the owners and their staff make one feel one belongs. I would move in tomorrow. Best holiday ever! And the wine isn't half bad either. Look out for the Big G, simply delicious! The restaurant was fabulous too, look out for a separate review.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, the Oliphant Mountain Suite has a great view. Every room very quiet and cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The setting is stunning as everyone else has said. The most amazing thing for us ( our 2nd visit but not our last ) is how much I feel like I am in my own house and can completely relax while I am on the estate . It is as if you have arrived at your second home ( fantastic estate ) in the country and everything is just the way you left it last time. The tranquility and sense of peace and nature are unrivaled . If you're looking for a busy place with lots of people running around and 200 staff , this is not the place. IF you want to enjoy the peace and beauty of the area while staying in a place that makes you feel as if you are in your own home .. THIS IS THE PLACE .
I have been to Franschoek 4 times in the past. I will always try to stay here when I return .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location, lovely grounds, fantastic staff. What more can one ask for?
We have visted Franschoek on and off for over 15 years and this is one of the best places we have found. The food and wine is fantastic and the enthusiasm of those that produce it is infectious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The guest house is set amongst the vines and the views are breathtaking! We had a suite with an amazing view out over the mountains! The bedrooms were fantastic with plenty of space to relax in! The surroundings are so peaceful with plenty of different places to relax - the bedrooms are situated around a beautiful fish pond which is very tranquil and lovely to sit by and read a book! Food is also fantastic - especially the home made bread and jams for breakfast! The decor is beautiful with some incredible artwork and the house itself is very spacious. Also highly recommend the restaurant which is just a short walk through the beautiful estate! Would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Crossing the little bridge we entered a private Eden, a little paradise. We had reached our destination, the Holden Manz Wine Estate outside Franschhoek. A session in the health and wellness spa, where all guests are treated as Royalty, was the perfect way to counteract the discomforts of a longhaul flight.

Stepping inside the cool, elegant interior of the beautiful Cape Dutch manor house we encountered the warm hospitality of the owners and the attentiveness of their staff. The beautiful architecture, visually striking interiors and tasteful furnishings are enahnced by a stunning collection of contemporary African art. An art lover's delight! Book lovers have a wealth of choice between fiction, history and biography as well as many exquisitely illustrated "coffee table" books.

The guest suites are luxuriously appointed and open onto the zen like pool containing huge koi carp.

Breakfasts were substantial, afternoon teas a feast! On one occasion afternoon tea was served as a picnic. We strolled through the gardens, past majestic ancient trees to a quiet corner of the Estate where two rivers meet and where a most memorable picnic was enjoyed.

Our stay was made really special by the attentiveness of Lameck who has the unique gift of anticipating one's every need. Perhaps it is significant that Lameck comes from Malawi, known as "the warm heart of Africa".

It was no surprise to learn that the manor house was angled by a feng shui consultant to ensure an uninhibited flow of chi, making this one of the most ideal places one could ever live.

I left with only one unanswered question. Why is this described as a "Guest House"? This is so much more than a 5 star guest house - a truly luxurious boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holden Manz Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Wine Estate

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly Klein Genot Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holden Manz Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holden Manz Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.