We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Helpful, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontaine Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Fontaine Guest House to your Saves list
La Fontaine Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
College Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, Helpful, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Kathie manages to make you feel right at home no matter how busy she is. We only had one night there but I wish we had more. The location is central in Franschhoek and perfect for taking advantage of local shops and restaurants. She was able to book us a table for dinner last minute on a Saturday night. We stayed in the Lavender Suite, which was spacious, private, and very comfortable and affordable. Breakfast was delicious and just the thought of the homemade muesli still makes my mouth water.

Room Tip: The garden rooms off the main house are very private and a nice touch if you want to be a bit on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
South Africans are known to be warm, hospitable and friendly and I hope that I have instilled that approach in my staff - it does not take much to make people smile!! In any successful business, location is one of the most important factors and La Fontaine has the best location when it comes to distance to the shops and restaurants etc. We hope that you will stay longer in this beautiful valley of Franschhoek. Warm greetings, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    48
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
108
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A very nicely presented environment. Breakfast was very good, particularly if you like it in the German/Nordic style (which matched most of the guests).

Franschhoek is impressive, with a dramatic landscape full of contrast in geography... and wealth... It has very good restaurants. Franschhoek is very recommendable to stay one night to visit the area of the wineries. Better travel during day light so you can enjoy the landscape. On the way back to False Bay we went by the coast, do it if you can, the landscape is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We ensure that our experienced staff offers the freshest and highest quality of breakfast to our new and returning guests, which we have become known for. If they say that Cape Town must be on your bucket list then that has to include the breath-taking valley of Franschhoek! We hope to see you soon in Franschhoek. Warm ishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just had time for a one night stop on our recent holiday and what a treat. Before we arrived Kathie was extremely helpful in planning our day and even though she was busy with a wedding party she still found time to make us feel at home. We had a fabulous garden room and were treated to a superb breakfast. Many thanks-can not recommend it enough.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and we hope that you and your friends will be back for a longer stay soon to explore this beautiful valley of Franschhoek and all it has to offer. Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in feb. the location is ideal, 5 mins to town and 15 mins walk to vineyards. We would recommend Chamomix for wine tasting. The room was large, light and airy. The staff were extremely helpful & booked a restaurant for our evening meal. The breakfast was superb, lots of choice. We only stayed 1 night and would recommend staying at least 2 if you can!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank yo so much for your review. Franschhoek must be enjoyed over a longer stay than 1 night to appreciate what it has to offer. It has breathtaking scenery, warm hospitality, world-class quisine, the finest wines and wonderful weather - what more could you ask for! Looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit to South Africa and especially Franschhoek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February at the end of our holiday in South Africa. Whilst we enjoyed the stay we felt the accommodation wasn’t to the same standard of many of the other hotels and guest houses we stayed at on the trip.

great location – the house was just across the road from one of the many restaurants and less than 2 minutes from the main high street but it also felt like a quiet location
staff –upon arrival we were advised we would need to change rooms during our stay and our agent should have advised – we were not happy about this and the manager managed to rearrange things so that this did not have to happen. They were also very helpful with restaurant & tour suggestions
wifi – free wifi access is offered however our accommodation was near the pool and the signal there was very poor
accommodation – this was clean but fairly basic and needed updating, also the bathroom very small. There was a safe in the room but it was located at the back of one of the kitchen cupboards which made it very difficult to access. Also because of the location of the accommodation (near the pool etc) we often had to keep blinds closed which made the room a little dark
The Pool - towels were provided together with sun loungers, the day we spent by the pool was very quiet however there wasn’t a huge amount of space so I imagine it could be very crowed
Franschhoek was a very pretty town and much smaller than Stellenbosh. We did a private wine tour (organised by the hotel) which was fantastic and we would highly recommend.
We had dinner at Bon Vivant, Café des Arts and Rocco – the Café was the best overall

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. As we were 100% full it was extremely difficult to juggle with our confirmed bookings so as not to move you from room to room because of the agents mistake! During the winter we upgraded the swimming pool area to allow for more space by making the flower beds smaller - a great improvement! As this unit is used for family accommodation, the safe is tucked away from little fingers that fiddle.\!! We are constantly upgrading and spend most of the winter months doing all we can to offer the best accommodation possible. I hope you spoke to your agent regarding the error! Regards, Kathie (Manager/Shareholder)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

La Fontaine stands right in the heart of Franschhoek so it's within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our rooms were away from the main house in a building with its own lounge and kitchen set in a charming garden. The "honesty bar" was a well-stocked fridge in the kitchen. Guests wrote down what they had selected from the fridge then paid at reception on check-out. There was complimentary port and dessert wine. The rooms were large, airy and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts were served in the garden under the vines. Cathy was very helpful and suggested places for us to visit as well as booking restaurants for us. The plumbing in the bathroom was somewhat quirky!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The late 19th century building has such charm and character but with all the modern day amenities. Our location is great - no need to drive to the restaurants so that you can enjoy the wonderful selection of wines that Franbschhoek has to offer. We look forward to welocming you or your friends back to La Fontaine on your next visit to this beautiful valley of ours. Warm greetings, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in February 2014. A party of 4 we were in the adjoining property, which far from being a dissapointment was really peaceful and we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast is very good, the only downside is the tables are much too small for 4 people, However this pales into insignificance when taking the benefits of La Fontaine as a whole. Stopping over in Franchhoek? , then do consider La Fontaine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi seasoned travellers! Thank you so much for your review. We do agree that the tables are a bit small for 4 people but as we serve breakfast outside under the vine covered pergola, the space is slightly limited as most of the guests want to enjoy the sunshine and do not want to sit in the breakfast room where there is ample space. Our breakfast is freshly prepared each morning and the cooked breakfast is prepared on request ensuring that the high quality of our breakfast is maintained. We hope that you will come back to this beautiful town of Franschhoek and invite your friends and family to experience our little "oasis" Warm regards, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontaine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.