We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontaine Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Fontaine Guest House to your Saves list
La Fontaine Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Surrey UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I last visited La Fontaine a few years ago and it felt like coming home to be back there. I was warmly greeted by Kathie and Dawn and was shown to my room which was as warm and beautifully furnished as I remembered. It was my first night in SA and after the long uncomfortable overnight flight, it was a pleasure to be in such a comfortable bed, sleeping on luxury linen. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The home made muesli was the best I have had but I resisted the cooked breakfast that was offered. I hope it won't be too many more years till I am back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to see returning guests on a regular basis and that year in and year out we offer the same high standard of service and amenities. We are so fortunate to be situated in one of the most beautiful valleys in the world where you can enjoy the outdoors but be close enough to Cape Town - only 1 hrs drive. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to South Africa. Regards, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    48
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
109
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our group booked a working weekend away at La Fontaine during September 2013.
My first impression of the guest house upon arrival was that it was beautiful and looked every bit as a guest house in Franschoek should look like.
After being greeted by the owners, Richard and Kathie von Hoesslin, we were shown to our rooms, whereafter a warm breakfast awaited us.
I found the living rooms inviting, charming, well kept, beautiful, with loads of comfortable furniture, blankets, and fireplaces to warm up what was one of the Capes coldest weekends.
The bedrooms are spacious, well kept, with dreamy duvets and feather pillows. The bathrooms are well appointed and the big old fashioned bath tub a real treat to relax in.
The old world charm of the rooms combined with the well kept state that it is in, made a lasting impression.
We enjoyed the home cooked food, and the wine that was served during mealtimes.
With regards to the conference setup - we were well looked after with a cosy conference area, a warm fireplace, coffee and tea on tap, and all the electronic equipment we asked for.
Mr and Mrs Hoesslin and their staff made us feel welcome, and went out of their way to look after our group.
I would most certainly return to the guest house upon my next visit to Franschoek - already being planned to be all pleasure and no work.

Room Tip: We had one of the blocks to ourselves, ensuring privacy during our stay. I believe from what I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the garden suites which felt very private and with a fire place which was made up everyday for us we could relax with a glass of wine in the evenings with the fire to keep us warm as was still bit chilly in the evenings. Very friendly staff and a good breakfast. Great location with it being less than 100m from the Main Street which is full of restaurants and shops. Would recommend it and will be back I'm sure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The garden suites all have wood burning fireplaces which certainly help to keep the chill out. We have had nearly a metre of rain this winter and we hope we will return to "the sunny South African" climate soon. We look forward to hosting you and/or your friends and family at La Fontaine if they have a chance to visit Franschhoek. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

La Fontaine Guest House is old, with poorly furnished and poorly decorated rooms (not even a small desk space); the parking lot is a tight ally where cars line up behind each other and block the exit; furthermore, the service at La Fontaine is not good; since Fransschhoek is known for its great restaurants, I expected to get some local recommendations about them at La Fontaine; instead, the manager there could not make specific recommendation and all she could do was show me the menus of different restaurants she had on her desk. Later during my Wineland tour I found out from my guide that indeed Franschhoek was known for some excellent restaurants but it was too late to find a space in any of them. During breakfast at La Fontaine the waitress did not show up for 25 minutes and I had to walk into the kitchen to ask for an omelet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. La Fontaine consists of 2 heritage buildings built in 1926 and 1895 which are constantly being renovating and upgrading. The parking is tight but we cannot move the boundries. The local authority ruling is that all cars must be parked on the property and have found what we offer, to be adequate. Menus are made available to show what is on offer at the different restaurants. We explain in detail(price + cuisine) but we prefer the guest to make their own decision. We pride ourselves in our high standard of service as can be seen by the comments on the many great reviews. Many thanks, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just one night and we were in the Victorian section at the back of the main guesthouse. There was a central living room for the Victorian house with an open fire and large well fitted kitchen. In the evening, when we came back from dinner on the Main Street, we lit the fire, had a glass of wine and chatted with some of the other guests as they came and went - very pleasant. The location is about 50 m from the Main Street, in a parallel road. The Main Street is full of restaurants and shops etc. The gardens around the houses are very tastefully landscaped and there was a terrace/veranda outside our room with a couple of chairs where we could wind-down before heading out for dinner. I could definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The gardens are landscaped by our son, who has won many gold awards for his projects. He studied at Wisely, in Surrey and Powis Castle,Wales. He has ensured that the plants are mainly indigenous which attract the many species of sugar birds which visit the garden regularly. The Victorian section has an "olde Worlde" feel which gives an aura of peace and tranquility although we are within close walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Fontaine on your next visit to Franschhoek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the place to stay at when you travelling in the Stellenbosch wine district.
It is piecfully located and the staff takes care of you as a family member. The rooms are indivually furnished and very charming. And just round the corner you have a number of good restaurants where you can enjoy fine meals - Reuben's is one of them and my favourite. It is easy for me to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your interview. We aim to make a stay with us at La Fontaine as comfortable as possible where you can relax and feel at home. We look forward to your next visit after you have run the comrades! Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in their family suite for just one night.

The location is great. It is only about a block behind the main street, so walking distance to restaurants, shops, and a Pick-n-pay market.

The guest house itself was very quiet and peaceful. The place had a rustic charm to it.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They had complimentary port wine in the room, the owner said it is very good port wine. I don't think I had ever drank port before, but I loved it, and helped myself to a few shots.

The owner recommended a couple of restaurants to us, and gave us the restaurant menus to choose from, we picked Le Bon Vivant, which was just around the corner from the guest house.

We enjoyed many, many fine meals during our visit in South Africa, Le Bon Vivant is just about my favorite of them all. Highly, highly recommend Le Bon Vivant, and their huge sampler dessert is a must.

When we checked out the next day, the Owner recommended for us to take R62 to Knysna instead of the N2. She even gave us a print out of the directions. That was an awesome tip. Definitely take the R62 to Knysna if time allows.

We enjoyed our stay here, and enjoyed visiting the town of Franschhoek.

We drove the Franschhoek pass, and the Helshoogte pass to Stellenbosch. Gorgeous views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very fortunate to have lived in the beautiful valley of Franschhoek for +- 28yrs and our knowledge of the area is extensive. The locals know best!! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Franschhoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontaine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.