We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontaine Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Fontaine Guest House to your Saves list
La Fontaine Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent our Company's 14th birthday weekend at La Fontaine and it was a wonderful experience. The Guest house is charming with its high ceilings and wooden floors and the warm fire in the lounge. The staff absolutely amazing - friendly and efficient.
I would definately recommend this Guest house.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful as they are airconditioned or have a fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting your company group to celebrate your great achievement. We look forward to hosting your company and/or individuals once again to experience the La Fontaine and Franschhoek experience. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    49
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
110
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we did not like the rooms on the swimming pool called garden suite as we felt in a garage and this was noisy. We would have preferred to stay in the main house. the welcome has been less good as in other places we stayed in the region. this is not really a place we would recommend even if situated in the center of this very nice city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologise if you felt that you were not well received when you arrived. We pride ourselves in making guests feel welcome and giving them a home from home experience as you can see in the comments from previous reviews. I have taken note of your comment about one of the garden suites and we are busy putting up pergolas around the patio to make it more private. The garden suites are extremely popular as they all have their own patios opening out into the garden; fireplaces and are spacious and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Fontaine in early May. It is well located on street back from the main street of the magnificent town of Franschhoek. We stayed in the family suite which was excellent and the owners were so friendly and most helpful when it came to local advice. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The hallmarks of the beautiful valley of Franschhoek are its breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world class cuisine and small village atmosphere. It is no wonder that travellers come back time and again to Franschhoek and to La Fontaine which is situated in the heart of the village. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends once again on your next visit to Franschhoek.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a wonderful three nights at La Fontaine Guest House on 4th,5th and 6th of April.2013

We arrived early following our overnight flight from Heathrow and were welcomed by Kathie and her staff. (Kathie had already been advised of our early arrival.) We had a welcoming cup of coffee in the delightful gardens whilst we waited for our bedroom to be ready. Our bedroom was ready as soon as possible. We were in bedroom no.2 . A large room with a large bathroom with free standing bath and twin washbasins. We shared a large balcony with spectacular views of the mountains.

We ate locally at our chosen restaurant.The Grill Room. A 5min. walk from La Fontaine. (This had been per booked by Kathie for us for our first evening). Great food at great prices in a lovely friendly restaurant.

The breakfasts was a buffet. With a plentiful supply of fruits, cereals, toast and juices. This was followed by a cooked breakfast (if one had room for it).

We would love to go back to beautiful Franshhoek and would love to stay again in the peace and tranquility of La Fontaine. A big thank you to Kathie and Shirley for making the start of our South African Holiday unforgettable. We wished we could have stayed longer and we will return again before too long. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room no 2 could not have been any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always try our best to prepare the room first when we are pre-warned that the guests are coming off an overnight flight. There is nothing worse than hanging on until 14:00 booking in time when you are tired and need a shower to freshen up! Although La Fontaine is centrally situated, within walking distance to the main restaurants, it is set in a quiet area of the village. Our gardens at the back of the main house are very peaceful. We look forward to welcoming you once again to La Fontaine to recharge your batteries and to enjoy the most beautiful valley in South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A really nice place to stay. Very central so you can walk to most restaurants. And take the tram to many of the wine tasting places. Lovely beautiful rooms. Our bathroom was probably bigger than the sleeping room with beautiful windows in two directions. (The bathroom a bit cold as could be expected in an old house in May) And such friendly and helpful host and staff making us feel like family for two days. On top of all that a really good breakfast including great cheese. Very good value. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We take great care in providing a fresh, substantial breakfast and all the products used are sourced locally. My assistant manager is a trained chef and she makes sure that the presentation of the food on the buffet table is very appealing to the eye and taste buds! We look forward to welcoming you again to La Fontaine on your next visit to Franschhoek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this Guest house which is one street up from the main street in Franschoek. I walked to and from town everyday and only needed to get into a car to go wine tasting.

Beautiful, homely and extremely friendly staff! Loved every minute at La Fontaine Guest House and in gorgeous Franschoek, especially the wines!

I will definitely be back there soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but are upstairs and you might need help with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our location is such a plus factor as we are close to the restaurants and shops and you can enjoy our finest Franschhoek wines on offer and not have to drive a car. Warm greetings, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night stay, with our kids in an adjoining room. It was perfect, and Kathie and her staff made us feel very welcome and our 2 girls enjoyed the pool (although a little chilly at this time of year!) as well as making new friends their own age. Kathie also provided useful tips on getting to route 62 (we even saw baboons on the Franschhoek pass!). Highly recommend La Fontaine as the ideal base from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write a review. I have a vivid memory of the 4 newly made friends, holding hands, hopping and skipping out our front door to go out together for dinner. I am sure they will keep up with their friendship. Looking forward to hosting you again if you visit our beautiful valley again. Warm wishes, Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontaine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.