We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with a capital 'H'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontaine Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Fontaine Guest House to your Saves list
La Fontaine Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hospitality with a capital 'H'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A lovely guest house, with a really welcoming atmosphere. The breakfast was as good as we've had anywhere - real orange juice, home-made muesli, and the most delicious fresh bread. We really appreciated Kathie's readiness to offer help, advice and information, and she and the staff made our trip to Franschhoek a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you so much for your very positive review. We hope that you will return to La Fontaine on your next visit to our beautiful valley of Franschhoek. Kathie (Manager/Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    48
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
109
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first four nights in beautiful South Africa we stayed in this very nice guesthouse.
Staff is extremely friendly, rooms are spacious and clean. The buidling interior has a warm atmosphere. We stayed in a room at the first floor and had a nice balcony to sit and relax.
More warmly decorated places to relax and have a drink are available in the house.
Breakfast is excellent. Opposite the guesthouse there ia a good restaurnant, called "The Bon Vivant". More good restaurants quite close by. Shops at walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building. We understood from other guest that these rooms are to be prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at La Fontaine for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. It is located in the heart of Franschhoek and only a stroll from lots of great restaurant options. We stayed in room 4 with direct access onto the shared balcony. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. There is also a great spacious Bathroom. Kathy and Dawn were both very helpful, particularly in relation to winery recommendations. The breakfast options were very good although depending on what time you arrive you may have a short wait for cooked breakfast, which is understandable in such a busy and popular Guest House. There is also a nice pool area in which to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallevik, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful guest house for three nights. We could have stayed there at least three more. The rooms, yes we had the stable consisting of two rooms, were lovely. A bit dark but that was good because it kept the warm sun out. It was very clean and the beds where very good.
The breakfast was one of the best ever. French toast, fried eggs, bacon, omelette. Your choice. The staff was very friendly and did their outmost to help you. A lovely pool too. I love to go there again.

Room Tip: The Stable was perfect for the three of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were supposed to stay there one night for a wedding reception neat by. Unfortunately due to a mix up our room was cancelled and they only had a smallish one available. Kathie and Richard (the owners) could not have been more helpful. They spent almost 30 minutes on the internet tand phone trying to find us a room. They were successful and we ended up even closer to the reception. Thank you !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As our travel agent had booked this we were a little unsure what to expect. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room (Vine) which was a pleasant surprise. Spacious, comfortable and with every amenity imaginable. It could be argued that the bathroom was a bit dated but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The location of La Fontaine couldn't be better. A minute's stroll from the main street with all its shops and restaurants and even a pool after a hard day's sightseeing.
The selection and quality of breakfast was first rate and I'd have no hesitation in recommending La Fontaine if you're visiting Franschoek.

Tip: A two minute walk from La Fontaine is a restaurant called Dutch East. Ideal for a light lunch but the dinner we had there was stunning. An excellent selection and quite delicious; also, coming from England, VERY reasonable.

If you have any questions, just ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were 3 couples and had rooms upstairs in the main house. Rooms 4 and 5 have a shared balcony with easy chairs and a table and fantastic views over the hills. Other guests can use it as well but we hardly saw anybody else. In the room is tea/coffee, safe, heating, very comfortable bed. Our room had no bath - some rooms do so if that is important for you then ask when booking. There is a lounge downstairs with a TV, board games and books. We used the large kitcen fridge when we asked. There is off road parkingaong one side of the drive - a bit tight so be careful and put wingmirrors in. The breakfast was excellent - plenty of great fresh fruit, wide range of cereal, eggs etc cooked to order, bread, cheese etc etc. The service was excwllent. Cathy gave really good advice. We had a loose sink tap and it was mended straight away.
We asked, ang got the use of, a laptop we used when it was free from use in the office.
It is only, literally, 2 minute walk to the main street. restaurants, shops etc. It felt very safe

Room Tip: Upstairs in the main house at the front has great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontaine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.