We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location and delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel to your Saves list
Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Nairobi
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed there for 2 days and loved the food completely. The location is just superb while the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is very warm and always ready to help. Highly recommended to all my friends and family. The Executive Chef Scott Shepherd knows his business very well and is on top of it.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good view, go for rooms on the 2nd floor such as 15, 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Shadzad K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    78
    54
    29
    17
See reviews for
44
146
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Le Franschhoek for business and I was blown away at the level of service and accommodation. When I went to my room there was some jazz playing which created a really nice vibe. The rooms were fantastic and a nice touch was the coffee machines and pods which was delicious. Great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

I will definitely share your feedback with our associates and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredenburg South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This has been my 4th visit to this Hotel with clients and once again I depart a happy and contented person.
From the time I arrived at the gate till departure it was excellent service all the way.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear zs1rap,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A beautiful hotel in the most gorgeous setting. The decor in the public areas and in the rooms are understated and tasteful. The outside patio, gardens and pool are gorgeous and all surrounded by mountains and huge trees. Pity about removing so many couches from the outside patio and replacing it with tables and chairs. The outside lounge area was one of the best features of the hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant the night and the food was really good.

But like everything the beauty and setting does not make up for the terrible service. Check in was fine but from there it went downhill. Getting lunch outside on the patio was a mission, we walked around looking for staff, once we found one we had to ask for menus. Then we had to get up twice to ask someone to please come and take our orders.
The evening in restaurant was even worse. We were literally falling asleep around the dinner table waiting for our main course.

I will be back because it is one of my favourite places in Franschoek, but a beautiful tastefully decorated hotel and the perfect setting with poor service will only get you so far.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony, we were in room 20 with the mopst awesome view onto the mountains from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear lazy-henk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is most disheartening to note, the poor service levels experienced during your recent stay.

As a management team we continually push the envelope to deliver exceptional experiences and in this instance have clearly erred. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced and be assured that this is not the levels of service we continually pride ourselves.

Please be so kind as to contact me directly for your next reservation in order for me to extend the necessary courtesies.

Kind Regards

Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at Three Cities' Le Franschoek Hotel and Spa in the main building on the last floor (there are many rooms spread out throughout the gorgeous gated property), for seven nights, and had a wonderful stay. Our spacious room had beautiful vaulted ceilings, a beautiful 180 degree view on the valley and the swimming pool, a nice balcony, a comfortable bed and turn-down service every night. The public areas are cozy, inviting and meticulously kept, and the service was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was lovely and could be taken on one of the pleasant tables outside. The premises have spa facilities and tennis courts, but we didn't use them. We also very much appreciated the free shuttle to downtown Franschoek, a mere 5mn drive from the hotel. We can't think of any flaw for Le Franschoek, maybe except for the very slow, but free, internet connection...but with so many things to see in the area, there was no reason to spend time online anyways! We would definitely recommend this hotel and beautiful Franschoek to anyone traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear heiranig,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Every aspect of our stay was exemplary, except one.
Spending two nights here we were woken early about 6am by housekeeping using a vacuum cleaner in the corridors and talking to each other in loud voices. The second time a call to reception stopped it but it was a bit late by then as sleep was over.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Iancs,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. Please be assured that we have since changed the public area cleaning schedule to ensure no repeat going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

LE FRANSCHHOEK: A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN

This is La Belle France in the South Africa’s Western Cape - framed by magical mountains; surrounded by landscaped greenery and steeped in history – Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has it all (and 4 stars to complete the picture).
Travel through the delightful village of Franschhoek - tourist’s paradise and vacationers Mecca – towards the towering Huguenot Monument (memorial to the French Huguenots who fled persecution in the religious wars after King Henry IV revoked the Edict of Nantes in France) and, turning right, head for the hills.
The winding road continues, through breathtaking scenery, until you reach the very base of the towering peaks – and there perched above, flags fluttering in the wind, rises the majestic, thatched hostelry that is a monument in itself. Smiling security staff will jump to attention and guide you towards the ample parking bays; reception staff will swan out of double-height glass doors to welcome you, and birdsong in the beautiful, backdrop of trees, will delight.
Whether you choose to overnight, indulge in a French-style meal, or simply take tea, with rich cheesecake or freshly baked scones drenched in heavy jam and clotted cream – you could not be made to feel more welcome. The reception rooms are a dream of white tiled floors, mirrors, white orchids and deep easy chairs; the bedrooms are regal and the gardens and large swimming pool are mega inviting. This deserves a visit and you can even imagine yourself in a small corner of France.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSnyman, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Relais-Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It is always most gratifying when guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I will definitely share your review with all our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris C Snyman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Address: Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#8 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.