We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that glitters isn't gold” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel to your Saves list
Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All that glitters isn't gold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We only had one nigh at Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa and upon arrival were thrilled with it's appearance and ambience . Nestled in the foothills of the Franschhoek mountains the location is beautiful as is the thatched hotel. Unfortunately for us our experience was very much let down by the service and the policy of the hotel. It is situated 3 to 4 kms out of the town and has no courtesy service to or from the town. On our arrival we had to request someone to deal with our luggage. The reception staff were surly and didn't provide any welcome.

In the room which was first class there were a couple of other things that I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel. Wifi wasn't complimentary, tea and coffee in the room was charged for, there was no mini bar, and the TV couldn't be properly viewed due to the post of the bed.

At dinner in the fine dining restaurant we arrived at our booking time of 7pm and there wasn't anybody in the restaurant. We sat on a sofa for 15 minutes and then asked a passing maid if the restaurant was open...it was and 5 minutes later a waiter showed us to our table.

At breakfast a cafe latte has to be paid for as an extra and my wife complained having waited 30 minutes for an omelette to be delivered.

The hotel offers much but the service didn't meet the 5 stars the hotel has attracted. I fear that if this continues then stars will be deducted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    78
    54
    29
    17
See reviews for
44
146
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As I was planning a 2 week dream vacation to SA, I had reservations about the hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews. But my tour company (Green Life Africa) had confidence, and I had emailed Eban, the manager. He assured me and we kept our reservation. Wow. . . am I glad we did! Eban upgraded us to a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom "house" overlooking the vineyards and mountains - just for my husband and I. It was two levels of luxurious living space that I could have lived in forever! I am sure the occupancy was low and thus allowed this upgrade, so I feel very lucky. The first night we ate in the sunroom restaurant because it was very late and we had driven from Hermanus. The food was OK, not great, but the waitress was a doll - her name was something like Kioso -I'm sure I'm not even close. The bed was heaven, and I awoke to roosters crowing. Coffee maker in the kitchen, consumed on our balcony -- heaven on earth! We spent the day in the small town of Franschhoek and loved every minute of it. Dinner at Reubans was excellent. We had to check out WAY too soon, at 7 a.m. next day to drive to Cape Town airport. Of the six places we stayed in during our vacation, this place was the one that I wished we could have stayed a night or two longer. It was so much better than I anticipated. One person I do remember was Richard who worked evenings. He showed us to our room, brough ice, etc. and was so wanting to please. The breakfast (included) was fabulous. Don't believe all the reviews, ask for an upgrade, and enjoy Franschhoek!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Rosie816,

Thank you for a wonderful review!
It is guests like you that brings a smile to my face and reminds me why I enjoy being a hotelier.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will think back with fond memories and perhaps return in future.

Happy travels!
Eben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Being a 5 star hotel and rather expensive at being one, it was not quite what I would have expected it to be. We stayed in the hotel section and not the chalets and it really felt quite like your run of the mill hotel. Nothing extraordinary, nothing special, just another hotel that managed to somehow get a 5 star rating. Anyhow, the gardens are very nice and I liked the swimming pool area, although there were lots of empty glasses and beer bottles standing around and no towels to be found.

Room Tip: Try the chalets rather than the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The entrance as you drive in is quite grand and promising, with its large, wrought-iron gates. Our check-in was very smooth and the same person showed us to our Garden Suite.

The route there from Reception is down the stairs and through the foyer area of the Conference Rooms. These Conference rooms were not being used at the time and the foyer area was bare and bland, with leaves on the tiled floor, and a spare round table loitering awkwardly in the middle of no-where. From there, we walked outside and down some stairs and along a short path to the Garden Suites.

The Garden suites each have a spacious tiled outdoor patio area. Ours had 2 wicker chairs and a small table between them; unfortunately they were all pushed up against the wall, in a straight line, and did not look inviting - no small pot on the table, nor the chairs conversationally drawn inwards towards one another.

Our room was spacious and all the essentials were in place. The decor lacked a touch of pizazz - it is co-ordinated in the ubiquitous neutrals of the day, but uninspiring. The bathroom is serviceable but very basic. It was disappointing that the television channel options were only local stations - no DSTV at all - especially as the weather turned chilly and wet.

We went to the lounge area that overlooked the pool, and which backs onto the bar and a fireplace with couches facing the fire. There was no fire in the fireplace which I found astonishing. The service from the bar/restaurant was very slow - I think there was only one waitron in attendance, at least in our section.

My overall impression and conclusion thus far was that what was missing was someONE; a host to walk around and consider what the guests needed, aesthetically (decor touches; signs of life in the areas that act as thoroughfares; indications that the guests have been expected) and physically (fire in fireplace).

When we went for breakfast the next morning, I was very pleasantly surprised. The buffet setup was picture-worthy, and guests (myself included) did take photos. The service from the staff was not attentive - plates not cleared from the table - but the food was of a wide variety and was tasty. Overall, it felt that there had been thought given to the choices and presentation.

This was a surprise getaway from my husband, so he wouldn't tell me how much it cost, but he travels extensively overseas and observed that the price did not match the offering.

Room Tip: We were in Garden Suite no. 42; we prefer being out of the 'main house' of a hotel if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to the team at Le Franschhoek Hotek & Spa for a lovely long weekend.
It was great to see a wedding taking place too and the hotels beauty being utilsed to the max!
 
Our Food in DISH restaurant was superb and it was great o meet The Food & Beverage Manager -Sean
 
It was great to see that every morning we had either Francois or Sean to greet us and make us feel like royalty.
 
I would most certainly reccomend this piece of paradise as its not everywhere the staff greet you by name and have that 'personal touch'
 
Well done!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Started out by being placed in a room overlooking a delivery corridor with a leaky faucet and cracked full length mirror. Thankfully we were moved to a far nicer room, although for a 5 star hotel the decor needs a lot to be desired! Not a single flower greets one as you walk into the entrance, the paintings hang skew and a tattered carpet lines the staircase! 5 star, I think not! I havent even touched on the breakfast service: dirty tables, asking several times for place settings and serviettes, no breakfast order offer on day 2 and to round it all off a very insincere apology when stating our complaints!
We still managed to have a lovely weekend but this hotel is not by any means 5 star and nor should it be asking the prices it does!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We would note the beauty of the village, the surrounding scenery, vineyards and mountains, and the hotel proper. Quite nice. The staff at the hotel was friendly, but seem undermanned, and perhaps not as well trained as one might expect from an aspiring 5 star hotel. We were there during a weekend wedding, and it seemed to overwhelm the place. The restaurant and service were unfortunately below par. Given other options, we could not unconditionally recommend to our others. (But honestly, after a glass of great Stellenbosch wine, all is forgiven...).

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suites (which are only rooms) have a view of the mountains and valley. Most of the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We would note the beauty of the village, the surrounding scenery, vineyards and mountains, and the hotel proper. Quite nice. The staff at the hotel was friendly, but seem undermanned, and perhaps not as well trained as one might expect from an aspiring 5 star hotel. We were there during a weekend wedding, and it seemed to overwhelm the place. The restaurant and service were unfortunately below par. Given other options, we could not unconditionally recommend to our others. (But honestly, after a glass of great Stellenbosch wine, all is forgiven...).

Dear Oceantics
Thank you for sharing your review.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed our natural beauty and the friendliness of our staff. It is a pity that the restaurant and service did not meet your expectations and we will endeavour to do better.
I am glad that you enjoyed the local wine :)

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Address: Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#8 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.