We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel to your Saves list
Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at Le Franschhoek Hotel as part of my honeymoon tour of South Africa. Upon arrival, on a rainy rainy day, we were met by very friendly and efficient staff at the hotel front desk. As we had arrived fairly late in the afternoon, there was not much for us to do except to consider dinner and an early night. It isn't the most conveniently located so if you have a car, it's a bonus!
We were shown to our room. Bags taken by the gentlemen. A lovely spacious room with a decent sized bathroom (I think if people think these bathrooms are small, maybe they should visit some hotel bathrooms in Singapore or France?!?!?!). Unfortunately for my husband and I, work was banging on our iPhone. Having departed for our honeymoon the day a major review came out at work, we somehow had to find a way to get some work done. We'd left both computers behind as we were on "honeymoon".
We came down and asked if there was a business centre or something similar that we could use. The gentleman at the front desk picked up on our anxiety and offered for us to use his computer. They brought us a wine list so that we could select a bottle of wine to accompany us while we worked. After finding we were there for a honeymoon, he congratulated us, but of course wanted to know why we were working on our honeymoon! Shame he said! Once our work was complete, we retired to our bedroom. Suddenly, there was a bottle of sparkling waiting for us. Very impressive.
We decided to have dinner at the restaurant. Whilst on our way down, we bumped into the gentleman from front desk again. He asked if we found anything? We said, yes, thank you for the bottle of sparkling. "Is that all you got?!?!", he asked with grave disappointment. We replied with yes, come on, how much are you supposed to expect? Really? Dinner was fantastic. Upon returning to our bedroom, our bed was turned down, rose petals on the bed. I was pleasantly shocked, upon going into the bathroom, that they had also poured us a hot bath with petals. Fantastic!
The rest of our stay was very much in line with this. The service was exceptional throughout our stay. They organised a private wine tour for us and our driver was the most hilarious and friendly guy you could ever ask for. Camelot spa was also fantastic. I can also honestly say, Le Franschhoek Hotel provided us with one of the best breakfasts. I love scraping my honey off the honeycomb!!

I cannot fault anything with Le Franschhoek Hotel. I personally had a great experience with them. I think your own experience and level of enjoyment will be very much dependent on your own expectations of them.

We were on honeymoon. We're pretty laid back and just wanted to have a good time away from chaos. This was a perfect place to do that. We didn't arrive with any expectation other to enjoy our time together away as a newly married couple. We got the best of things from Le Franschhoek Hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear hopskipjumptravel

I am so pleased that we could assist you in creating special memories during your honeymoon. I hope that we will be priviliged to host future anniversaries too!

Happy travels!

P.s. Remember, we are purely the stage and you, our guests, the stars :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    78
    54
    29
    17
See reviews for
44
146
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

On a very rapid trip across the garden route and didnt spend enough time in the area. But this was the jewel in the crown. The local wine area guide Girschen would has a desk in reception he is a must. It is extra but we got driven around the local area vineyards and met owners and went in the cellers. You should go to Dieu Donne late afternoon with sun going down the views over the valley are staggering and the have a restaurant too. We ate in the hotel which was very good.

Room Tip: rear of the hotel overlooking the grounds from the verandah with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Graham S,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Le Franschhoek and hope that we can welcome you back in future!

Happy Travels
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in early september. Before writing this review I was mindful of some of the negative comments made by other guests. Firstly Le Franschhoek is a beautiful building with wonderful views of vineyards and mountains resembling an Austrian setting. Our rooms were excellent, clean and tidy. The reception staff were helpful and efficient. The concierge went out of his way to help with trips to wineries and restaurants. The big let down was the service at dinner on the second night. We were one two tables the waitress had to attend to. Her skills were extremely poor, more what you would expect from a cheap city diner. Her attire was poor She spent more time giggling to the chefs and delaying them hence the food was cold. The people at the other table complained I got fed up waiting for her to pour our wine I did it myself This was not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. It's a pity this bad experience colored my view of an otherwise lovely stay. Manager please take note!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Denis E,

The manager has certainly taken note! I am glad that you liked our hotel and most apsects of your stay. I am sorry that the dinner experience was not what it should have been. Please be assured that I will address all the issues you highlighted to ensure that there is no reoccurrence.
I hope that we can welcome you back in future.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice location in winelands. Grounds were beautiful. Service was just OK. Many of the staff seemed inexperienced. Room was three star at best. Furniture looked "cheap" and carpet in the room was badly stained. Bathroom was tiny. Food in the restaurant was good, but not exceptional. Would certainly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeFranschhoek, General Manager at Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear foodlover7752787,

Thank you for posting your review.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. At Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa we believe in a continuous process of improvement . Please be assured that we will use your feedback in that process.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a spur of the moment family getaway, and I had stayed here a few years ago on business and thought it would be a good option.

The property is elegant and the decor is good - but a touch on the cold side for my taste.

The gardens and views are truly spectacular.

Service is variable, some of the staff are brilliant, others less so. All very friendly though. Food took a long time to come, but when it did, it was very good quality.

A nice touch was the manager/concierge (not sure who he was exactly) checking in on the tables at breakfast and making itinerary suggestions. He was very friendly and helpful and managed to point us to some great activities even though we know the area well.

My only real complaint was a truly awful stench of cigarette smoke wafting in to our room from somewhere below even though everything was shut. The staff seemed completely helpless to even attempt to help. It really spoiled a great night to come home to a stinky room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here in February on a business conference. Hotel was lovely although not quite 5 star standard. Hotel was clean but overall level of service was only average. If I was returning to Franschoek (which I would highly recommend), I think I would book elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, 26 - 28 July 2012 at a discounted rate. Was not that impressed when we entered the room and first nights stay was iffy, with room not so clean, bed not so comfortable, slanting. After discussing our issues with Gershon thinking he was the Hotel manager judging from his helpfullness, informing us of where to do wine tasting (La Courrone - Excellent with Hugenot chocloate, thanks Tina! and lunch at Le Petite Ferme that includes a wine tour with John who "romances the vine"), we arrived back at our room to be surpised by a very clean room with extra care taken to impress, thank you Francois!
The Camelot spa is a must to relieve stress!

Value for money at discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel

Address: Minor Road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#8 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Le Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Le Franschhoek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.